My first sweater

Fin!

I ❤ it.

I’m so proud of it.  Proud of the Wool of the Andes for cooperating me.  Proud of myself for completing a sweater!  A wearable garment with actual seaming and shaping!

It’s warm.  It’s soft.  It’s comfortable.  And it fits!  Even in the sleeves, which I made a staggering *19.5* inches long, to accomodate my ape arms:

It’s the first time I’ve ever owned a sweater with turned cuffs!  Which I could actually turn!  Also, I apologize for my weird expression in that above photo.  It’s very “WTF”, no?

So here’s my boobs instead:

I like that shot.  How do ya’ like my girls?  And by “my girls” I mean, of course, the buttons. (What did you think I was talking about?) The buttons are burned wood.  Would you believe I found these at Wal-Mart? Me neither!  But it’s true!

I’m in love, and it’s with a sweater

Specs:
Pattern:  Sideways Spencer Redux, by Annie Modesitt
Size:  36″, to fit my 33″ bust.  Except I knit it at a slightly smaller gauge than recommended, so the finished bust is actually about 34.5″.  Arms are, as mentioned above, 19.5″ each.
Yarn:  Knit Picks Wool of the Andes worsted, 770 yds.  “Tidepool Heather”.
Modifications:  Arm length, longer ribbing at the bottom, a slightly shorter collar, and US8 needles used throughout instead of the the US7s recommended for the ribbing.  I did use the 7’s for the cuff ribbing.  If I were to make this sweater again, I would prob. go ahead and use 7’s for the bottom ribbing, too, but still use the 8’s for the collar and plackets.  And maybe even for the cuffs.\

Leave a Reply

