What have I done?!

But I don’t mean that in a bad way.  I mean it in a good way.  In a this kind of way:

What kind of way?

Oh yeah.  This kind of way:

Oh, fine.  I’ll just tell you.  It was this kind of way:

Remember a couple weeks ago when I blogged about my fantastic early birthday gifts from my mom? The yarn?  The one that reminded me of Una’s dress in Stardust?  And remember how I said (here is where I quote myself), “And also, I’m pretty sure I need to start knitting this immediately, or else I never will.  It’s one of those things, y’know?  I can’t just keep this yarn as my pet.  I won’t let myself.  I won’t!

Well, I didn’t let myself down.  And if I had a time machine, I’d go tell 2-weeks-ago-self that it’s OK, I did what I said I would.  Then 2-weeks-ago-self would comment on my roots showing, and I’d tell 2-weeks-ago-self that that’s also OK, that my mom would come into town and take care of it in just a couple of days.  I think 2-weeks-ago-self and I would be good friends.

But I digress (tends to happen a bit ’round here)…

So here’s what happened:  I woke up early on Saturday morning and CO for Evelyn A. Clark’s famous Shetland Triangle (Rav link).  I knit my little fingers off, knitting my way through Stardust (an obvious starting point), The Princess Bride, Spaceballs (a bit of a departure, but the connection is that they both have funny priests/officiants.  See how my mind works?), and 3 or 4 episodes of The Sopranos (tail end of season 4 and the first couple of season 5).

By that point it was late (actually, I think we were into “very very early on Sunday” territory), but I’d completed all 8 reps of the pattern–and since I still had a ton of the yarn left, I did one more rep (that’s 9 so far, for those of you who are quick with the maths) and called it a night.

At one point in my progress, I enlisted a model–the only one who’s willing to work for the wages I offer (wages:  ear scritches, tummy kisses, and Feline Greenies):

(You like his interpretation of “Magnum”?  Or is it “Blue Steel”?)

But he soon became haughty–creative differences, I suppose:

And eventually stopped cooperating altogether:

Stupid jerk.  See if I ever hire him again (I probably will).

So anyway…Sunday morning I was up bright and early again, and right back to work.  I knew I’d get at least 2 more repeats out of the yarn, maybe 3.  That’s the tricky thing with this triangular shawl–each RS row is 4 stitches longer than the RS row before it.  Meaning, each RS row takes just a smidge more yarn than the last.  Only thing is, over 120 rows, that’s a pretty damned big smidge.  But I did my best guesstimating, and by Sunday evening (I’d watched the first LOTR movie, btw, as well as the first half of the second, and some more Sopranos) I’d done 12 repeats.

That’s only 3 repeats for the day, but they were pretty fucking huge by this point.  Not that I’m trying to defend myself, see, just explain it to y’all.

So anyway.  I did the final chart–edging, logically enough–and bound off the +/-300 stitches I was working with at that point.

It was 11:30pm, and I decided to press on and block it, just ‘cuz I could.

Here it is unblocked, on the guest room floor, in the middle of the night:

I didn’t soak it, because I was tired and lazy, but I did run it thoroughly under the tap, then press out the excess water (yarn didn’t bleed at all, btw!).

Final (blocked) dimensions:  64″ across the neck, 30″ from center neck to the butt point, and 45″ from each arm to the butt point:

(surely I’m not the first person to call it a butt point?)

With that done, I took some Ibuprofen for my sore wrists and went to bed.  I’d made a shawl in 2 days.  Yowza.

Yesterday morning, when it was fresh off the blocking pins, Jeff indulged me in a brief shoot (I fancy myself more cooperative than Macbeth).

The obligatory “Batgirl” shot:

The “casually-draped-over-the-shoulder-and-‘oh-this?-I-rock-it,-bitches'” shot:

The pussy shot:

(what, you were expecting something different?  Just playin’ with the search engines)

(and besides, you can’t even really see the pussy)

The “don’t look at me! I’m hideous!” shot:

The exasperated husband/”If you’re just gonna horse around then I’m done taking pictures of you” shot:

Yes, I ❤ my new shawl.  My Stardust shawl

PS>Want to see how much yarn I had left?

I rock, dudes.  ROCK.

3 responses to “What have I done?!

  1. That is just awesome. I just love the color & it’s spectacular!

  2. Wow, you DO rock!! That is AWESOME!!

    –mzb

  3. Pingback: Duluth material | KateOhKatie blogs

Leave a Reply

