Because I don’t have my camera here at work…

And I’ve just gotta put *something* up, gosh darn it!


For the Married

How long have you been married (or together)?
Married for 1 year 5 months, together for….hold on…::takes off handknit socks, counts toes::….3 years 6 months.  I’m 80% certain that is correct.

Is this your first marriage?
Mine, yes.  Jeff’s on his 5th.

Is it how you imagined it would be?
I thought we’d have a puppy by now. (HINT HINT NAG NAG LOVEYOU!)

What would you change?
Woulda gotten a puppy.  A fluffy one.

Are you married to your soul mate?
I don’t believe in souls, so let’s just say this:  Jeff hates brownie edges, and I love ’em.  Yen, meet yang.

What do you argue about the most?
Money.  I like spending it.

What do you see eye to eye on the most?
Politics is quite relevant right now.  Though I do swing a bit farther left than him in some respects, and he’s left of me in others.

Where did you meet your spouse?
Corner table in the Missouri Hall (dorm) cafeteria.

Where was your first date?
Um….we didn’t go on a date-date till we’d been together for a while.  We went to see the Hitchhiker’s movie, but his friend came along.  We drove to Iowa at 3am just for giggles.  Maybe that counts.

Where were you when you became engaged?
Kitchen floor of his parents’ house.

Did you live together before marriage?
Yeah, for….oh shit hold on….a year and a half?

What was your wedding song?
“Faithfully” by Journey.  We’re just that nerdy.

Who was in your wedding party?
My friend Katie, his friend Chris, and my four cousins (flower girls):  Emily, Jenna, Kaitlyn and Olivia.

Do you get along with the in-laws?
Yep.

Whats your view on children?
Downward, usually.  Unless I’m on the floor, then we’re pretty much even.
…We both want kids.  He says “have 2 and see how we feel then”, I say “BABIES NOWWWW!!!  WITH CURLY HAIRRRR!!!!”  But really, we would like to have 3 or 4 someday (hopefully not all at once–knock on wood)

Does your spouse feel the same way?
He’s more noncommittal on the quantity thing.

Are you a 2 peas in a pod or opposites attract couple?
Definitely not opposites.  Definitely more alike than different.  Definitely not the same.  Definitely.

Do you go out without your spouse?
Sometimes.  When we go to Kirksville I tend to hang out with my girlfriends and he hangs out with his frat brothers.  We need to make some couples friends, though.  How does one acquire couples friends?

How long are you away from your spouse before you start to miss him/her?
Well I always enjoy talking to him and sharing experiences with him, but that’s also what texting is for…

Have you ever compared your spouse to someone you have dated in the past?
Yeah, he doesn’t even come *close* to measuring up to my preschool boyfriend. (Patrick!  Call me!  We can play ninja turtles again!)

Do you trust your spouse?
I trust him to feed the cats and not to clobber me about the head while I sleep…what more could you ask for?

Does your spouse trust you?
I think he does, 100%.  Though sometimes I do clobber him about the head while he sleeps.

How well do you know your spouse’s favorites?
Well, I’m his favorite.  So…pretty well.

How well does your spouse know your favorites?
“Hey Jeff, what’s my favorite yarn?”  “Green stuff.  Blue stuff.  Wool!  You like wool!  Um…soft wool?” (the preceding conversation was a dramatization)

Do you get along with your spouses friends?
Some more than others, but they’re all fine.

Does your spouse get along with your friends?
I think we may annoy him after a certain period of time.  Groups of females tend to have that effect.

Did you go on a honeymoon?
We took a “mini-moon” to the Lake of the Ozarks.  He still owes me a *real* honeymoon.  Someday…

Do you watch the same TV shows?
The Office, Mad Men, Mythbusters, Family Guy, Weeds, Sopranos, Arrested Development…yeah.

Can you agree on Pizza toppings?
Lol no.  Our pizzas look like they have D.I.D…one half has pineapple and mushrooms and no cheese, and the other half has pepperoni or sausage with cheese.

Who takes out the trash?
He does it.

Who does laundry?
I do.  I don’t trust him.  He knows better than to try.  Fact of life.  No hard feelings.  Well, he could do towels sometimes…

Who cooks dinner?
Me, but once in a while he’ll fix me a sandwich or something.  And we always make salad together.

Who is the first one to wake up in the morning?
Othello, then me.

Do you have any traditions?
Oh yeah.  Making salad together, hanging out at Starbucks on the Loop, how he tucks me in bed at night, how I steal his pillow in the morning (yeah rly).

Is there anyone in your spouses family that you cant stand?
Just that damned daschund with her huge ears and teeeny widdwe thumb legs and her kissy tongue.

Anyone in your spouses family you adore?
See:  damned daschund.

Do you know your spouses passwords/pins?
He just has the one.  Which I have stolen and use too.  So, yeah.

Does your spouse know your social security number?
I think he does.  I know his, at least.

Do you ever nag your spouse?
Pretty sure that was in the fine print on our marriage license.

Do you admit wrong doing?
What sort of “wrong doing”?  I don’t do much wrong.

Does your spouse?
After a time. :-p

When is the last time you or your spouse bought each other flowers?
He got them for me on my birthday (actually, a couple days before my birthday).  I can honestly say, though, I’ve never bought him flowers.  Sorry, Jeff.

One response to “Because I don’t have my camera here at work…

  1. This was very sweet to read. Sounds like you two are a wonderful couple. That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

