Someday

Aldi has these delicious seasonal cookies…Speculaas, I think? German.  Shaped like windmills and donkeys and bridges and who-knows-what-else.  DELICIOUS.  I only take them in my lunch at work, and I only bring 2 at a time – because otherwise I KNOW I’d eat the whole bag (and I’m soooo not an “eat the whole bag” type of person).
~~
Know what’s really dumb?  I really miss going to the Christmas section at the WalMart in Kirksville.  I hate WalMart, but in that small town of very limited shopping opportunities, there was really no place else to go.  And really, there’s nothing better than the boxes and boxes of wrapping paper tubes, the light displays, the two full aisles of ornaments…  round it out with a trip to the stores downtown and a chai latte from Washington Street Java Co, and you’ve got the recipe for a perfect afternoon.
~~
If you could steal anybody’s life, whose would it be?  I think I’d steal the Pioneer Woman’s.  Only the cooking posts wouldn’t contain any meat.  That’d be the biggest difference.
~~
I just Twitter‘d that I can’t wait for this phase of my life to be over, and it’s true.  I would like very much to just skip ahead to the staying-at-home, babymaking, lots of baking, and laundry-on-a-clothesline phase.
~~
My puppy‘s tummy is still sick, though I do think she’s on the mend.  I will sure be glad to get her off the $2/can dog food, though!
~~
On Friday I spilled tea on my keyboard here at work – it was the only fancy ergonomic one here in my office.  Now the H, K, and O keys don’t work, so I had to trade it out for a standard keyboard.  And all day today I’ve felt like my thumbs were bumping into each other and I don’t know which hand to use to type Y or B anymore.
~~
My mom finally saw my tattoo in person.  And guess what?  She still loves me.  I knew she would.  (She even said it “wasn’t that bad.”  I’ll take that as the go-ahead to work on the full backpiece of Frodo and Harry Potter battling Darth Vader!)
~~
Know what I love?  My grandma gave me 15 lbs of unshelled pecans, and last night I picked a couple pounds’ worth (this will be a week-long project).  They come from a farm (grove?) near her house in central Missouri.  Isn’t that fantastic?  These local items are far superior (both in taste/quality and economy/environmentally) to those that come in the plastic bags at the grocery store.  And I realized, that’s how I approach many things in my life – our bread comes from my own kitchen, my favorite soup bowl was handmade from clay that originated in an exurb of Kansas City (and crafted by the owner of that land), and I warm myself in socks made of yarn dyed right here in St. Louis.  Little things, for sure, but things that make my life so much more pleasant and personalized (isn’t that how life should be?).
~~
On Saturday my mom and I went shopping in the Loop, and we stopped in at a shop that sold Tibetan singing bowls.  I learned how to use one, and fell in love with one that was (gulp) $109.  Well worth the money, in my opinion – though that doesn’t mean I have the money to spend right now!  It has made me think seriously about approaching meditation, though – for the physical and psychological effects, as y’all know I’ve not got a whiff of spirituality about me!
~~
I didn’t buy a bowl, but Mom did buy me this gorgeous moonstone ring.  Nepalese.  (Not exactly local, but it’s fair trade, at least)

I love it.  It’s my new favorite.  (Not so much love for the florescent lighting here at work )
~~
I’m not sure if we’re going to send out Christmas cards this year or not – if nothing else, it can be a good way to let everybody know that we’ve moved, but is that really worth all the money and time?  Though it is always fun finding secular and witty (but not tacky) cards…
~~
I have an overwhelming desire to make crackers (see:  “local,” above).  Garlic and parmesan and onion.  And dip them in a replication of the out-of-this-world artichoke dip we had at Fitz’s on Saturday night (goes down reeeal smooth with a diet cream soda or two!)
~~
In the same way I came to own the moonstone ring, I have recently come into possession of a skein of Noro sock yarn. Soon it shall become some super-basic socks – I’ll let the color do the talking.  I can’t wait!  Must get the knitting mojo back…where did I leave it?
~~
We went to Target last night to buy Mary Poppins on DVD (A pecan-shelling tradition from my childhood – ya pick pecans, ya watch Mary Poppins.  The two go hand-in-hand), but it was $20.  Seriously.  For a stinkin’ DVD that came out 40 years ago?
~~
It’s December 8th.  Every year (and I do mean *every year*) by now I’ve had a Christmas countdown calendar going.  My co-workers already think I’m weird – I might just sit here and make a paper chain at my desk.  Tear off a link for every day leading up to the holiday!
~~

Smoochie boochies!

(I really want to re-watch Clerks now)

2 responses to “Someday

  1. The idea of Frodo and Harry Potter battling Darth Vader on someone’s back is so… incredibly… EPIC! haha and hilarious!

  2. Pingback: Christmas, etc. | KateOhKatie blogs

Leave a Reply

