Christmas Meme

From Maryse and Carole:

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags? Wrapping paper if at all possible – I’ll put stuff in boxes to make it nice and square.  Because aren’t wrapped packages just more fun to open?
2. Real tree or Artificial? Artificial tabletop tree right now, because we’re so mobile…like gypsies…but one day, it’ll be real!
3. When do you put up the tree? As soon after Thanksgiving as Jeff will let me.  I love it!
4. When do you take the tree down? It just looks sad after Christmas, doesn’t it?  I usually take it down around New Year’s.
5. Do you like eggnog? Mmmmmmmmm.  I’d bathe in the stuff!  (And I also LOVE that it comes in “lite” now!)
6. Favorite gift received as a child? Oh boy.  Since I never got the Cozy Coupe OR the CD player OR the pony, I guess I’d say that my favorites were either the cozy-warm sleeping bag or the bedroom furniture and decorations.  Or my bike!  Of course…my first bike!
7. Hardest person to buy for? My granddad, because he has *everything*.
8. Easiest person to buy for? Probably Jeff, because I’m always around throughout the year to hear his “I’d like to have…”‘s.  Or my mom, since I’ve got the yarn to knit her about 6 things!
9. Do you have a nativity scene? Of course not.
10. Mail or email Christmas cards? Never emailed them before, but I do usually mail them.
11. Worst Christmas gift you ever received? None really come to mind, though I do remember getting some “uh…WTF?’s” from my high school boyfriend.
12. Favorite Christmas Movie? Either Christmas Vacation or A Christmas Story.
13. When do you start shopping for Christmas? Usually just after Thanksgiving, and I’ve got it all taken care of by about…now.  This year we still have a couple of people to buy for, cards to buy, and at least one project to finish.
14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present? Hmm…don’t think so. But I do give stuff away that’s not really to my tastes.  And then only if I can tell the gift giver didn’t really put any thought or effort into the initial gift.  Never if it’s anything that was lovingly picked out just for me.
15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas? I always liked my mom’s breakfasts on Christmas morning.  Usually cinnamon rolls or monkey bread or some other deliciousness.
16. Lights on the tree? Who doesn’t?
17. Favorite Christmas song? Anything from the Barenaked Ladies Christmas album (given to me last year by my loving husband)
18. Travel at Christmas or stay home? Ideally we’ll get to the point where people come to *us*, but for now we go to KC.
19. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer? Yes.
20. Open the presents Christmas Eve or morning? Sometimes we’ve done stockings on Christmas eve, but that’s different than what I did growing up.  I sorta like it, though.  It’s an appetizer for Christmas morning.
21. Most annoying thing about this time of the year? The song “It’s the most wonderful time of the year.”  Because singer lady?  When I’m driving in dreary sleety weather on my way home from work and I’m exhausted and stressed and starving, ain’t nothin’ wonderful about it.  So stop pretending.
22. Favorite ornament theme or color? I like it to be eclectic, and pretty much anything not religious is fine with me.  I try for them all to have personal signifigance, though.
23. What do you want for Christmas this year? A swift and ball winder.  Jewelry.  Those cute LL Bean boots and corduroy skirt.  YARN.  A bigger zoom lens for my camera.
24. Angel on the tree top or a star? A star right now, but once we have a big tree, we’ll have a cardinal topper.
25. Favorite Christmas dinner? Whatever my dad cooks.  Usually it’s a repeat of Thanksgiving, with a few tweaks.  Sometimes they make ham.  I refuse to associate with it.

Leave a Reply

