Morning baking update

Remember when I got married, and practically blogged my way down the aisle?

Remember how y’all made fun of me?

Well, I’m about to do it again…notsomuch with the “getting married” part, but yes with the “blogging when I have sooo many other things to be doing” part.

On Monday night I made 7 batches of snickerdoodles.

Here are 2:

For the first time in my 15+ year career as a Snickerdoodle Baker, they turned out totally screwed up.  My kitchen was having dire (and I mean DIRE) humidity issues and the cookies were totally drying out as they cooled.

1 more batch is in the trash, because it was 1am and I was tired as all get-out, and I forgot to put in both the eggs, and the cream of tartar.  Yes, I know.  But it was 1am.

4 more batches turned out a-ok, happy yum-yum, and are living in here:

(top and bottom containers)

The middle container above, contains 2 batches of my snowball mint-chocolate-chip cookies.  Almost pure butter and chocolate.  ECSTACY.

I made those last night (Tuesday night).

This morning I woke up at 6:30, and made 3 batches of sugar cookie dough, which are living in my covered 9×13, as all my big Tupperwares and mixing bowls are being otherwise utilized:

They’ve been chilling for an hour or so; they’ll be ready to roll out as soon as I am.

As I’ve been writing this, I’ve been running back and forth between the kitchen, where I’ve got 2 batches’ worth of lemonade drops:

(that picture was from about an hour ago; the last batch is about to come out of the oven)

Lemonade drop dough:

OK, I just pulled the last batch out of the oven, and took my camera with me:

95 cookies.  You can see my pots of water boiling in the background (anybody want to tear some sheets up into bandages with me?  Plane some firewood into splints?  Anybody?  Anybody?)

I also grabbed quick shots of the snowballs:

(that’s wax paper separating the layers, not just really weird focus )

And successful snickerdoodles:


Yum.

Y’all have no idea how disheartening it was to screw up snickerdoodles.  I mean, if there’s one recipe I’m famous for, it’s my snickerdoodles.  Remember my family reunion in August?  They wouldn’t let me in the door without ’em.  So for those to not go well, well that was just bizarre.

But anyway, now I’m almost out of butter:

(When is 6 lb of butter not enough?  When you’re baking a bajillionty-dozen cookies!)

…so I’m off to the grocery store.  Might brush my teeth first.  Probably should.

When I get back, I’ll be rolling out the sugar cookies and baking them, and then it’s on to PW’s cinnamon rolls!  I may make a couple batches of fudge, too, if I have the time…

Who will clean my kitchen while I’m gone?

(will try to check in again ’round 2:00 or so.  See ya then!)

Leave a Reply

