I can hardly believe it

I did it on Saturday, and I still can’t believe what I did.

I didn’t believe it as I was doing it.

I didn’t believe it when I’d done it.

I didn’t believe it after I’d done it, when I was looking at it.

I didn’t believe it the next day when I took pictures of it.

I finished Maude.

Well, she’d been “finished” for about 2 months.

“Finished” except for the seaming, then “finished” except for the buttonbands, then “finished” except for the collar, then “finished” except for weaving in the ends, and finally “finished” except for the buttons.

And on Saturday I couldn’t put it off any longer, and I wouldn’t let myself do anything else until the buttons were sewn on, and it was every bit as painful as I’d known it would be.

And now it’s really, truly, FINISHED.

There’s absolutely nothing left to do.

I know this for sure, because I’m here at work today, wearing it.  It’s not draped over my shoulders, it’s not held shut at the waist with my hand.  I’m not standing in front of the mirror half-wearing it, envisioning how it’ll look with the collar done and buttons on.

Finally, because I gotta be me…
I hump-a de KAR!

(I look-a like de Parees Heelton, no?)

PS>Technical details and my (extensive) list of mods are on Rav.

2 responses to “I can hardly believe it

  1. This is so pretty, I love the colour, and the detail of the trellis-like stitches. I want one!

  2. WOW! I could only dream of being able to knit something this amazing. I’m at the scarf stage, slowly trying to progress to hats, fingerless gloves and socks. Maybe someday.

    Thanks for the great recommendation (btw) on the neti pot a while back. I bought one and it has really helped me get through allergy season.

Leave a Reply

