“So what did you do all day?”

Jeff walked in the door tonight, looked at the clean laundry on the office floor and said, “You didn’t take care of the laundry?!”  (Perhaps, PERHAPS it had been sitting on the floor in various states of folded-ness for upwards of a week)

No, I didn’t put away laundry.

I DID start the morning relaxing in bed with a book:

(Real page-turner, by the way.  Highly recommended!)

I DID bake chocolate cupcakes with chocolate frosting (from scratch, natch):

(The cupcake recipe is my classic one, and the frosting is a simple combo of semisweet chocolate, butter, vanilla, coffee, milk and powdered sugar.  And yes, I ran out of icing with 5 1/2 cupcakes to go.  More tomorrow!)

And I DID bake bread, too:

And I DID use half of one loaf…

…to make paninis for dinner:

(still cooking, there. They were homemade bread + mayo + pesto + chicken + turkey bacon + onions + provel and mozzarella.  I cooked the chicken on the stove, with dried onion, mustard powder, garlic, lemon, olive oil, salt and pepper.  Que delicioso!)

And I DID hard-boil some eggs, while I was at it:

(And I also fried up and froze 1/2 a pound of turkey bacon for salads and such, to use it before it goes bad next week)

I DID spend an undue amount of time supervising this piece of work:

I DID scrub the entire bathroom, top to bottom:

(oops.  My homemade cleaner is still in that picture.)

I DID wash four more loads of laundry, and start work on folding it:

I DID NOT touch my knitting all day:

(Well, almost.  Only for an hour or two. :-D)

……

So no, Jeff, I DID NOT put the laundry away.  But I did a whole hell of a lot of other stuff.

I gotta be honest, though.  I DID NOT get dressed all day.

And I DID tuck my lenscap into the waistband of my pyjama pants to take these pictures, here at 9:30pm:

(Heh.  Flour on my shirt.  Susie-Homemaker-cred?)

And now I’m going to lay down and go to sleep.  What a productive day “off”!

One response to ““So what did you do all day?”

  1. You had a very productive day. At our place, I wash, dry and fold the laundry, and then my husband puts it away. I love the colors of your current project.

Leave a Reply

