Better than a $7 rum and coke

I think this weekend I partook in my first real yarn crawl.

It was fun – a fantastic diversion in an otherwise busy and work-filled weekend in Kansas City.  Mom, we’ve gotta do this again sometime.

Our first stop was Stitch Knitch in North Kansas City, one of the first LYS’s I ever went to.  I went in just for a US4 Addi Turbo, and I came away with that, plus, this:

3 skeins of Cascade Sierra (80/20 cotton/merino worsted weight) in a lovey creamy white, to make a cardigan to replace [a store-bought] one that I’ve had since forever, which is on its last legs.  I’m thinking Hey Teach.

Then it was just a short jump around the Northland to Urban Arts & Crafts, which is much, much more than just a LYS.  We got lots of other goodies (jewelrymaking- and dresser-related), and I found this in the sale bin for only $9:

ONLine supersocke.  I’m not sure of the term for when a solid is plied with a variegated like that, but I do love it.  And I’m pretty sure I’ve fondled this exact skein in the past, too.  I LOVE the lavendar + plum + magenta + burgundy coloring.

That was Saturday.  On Sunday we went to the much-hyped Studio, just off the Plaza.  I LOVED it.  I can totally see what all the hype was about; and I can’t wait to go back.

I don’t know if it was a typical day there or what, but there were a LOT of yarns on 50% off sale.  Like this:

Sublime merino DK; so squishy and cozy!  Will be a sweater of some sort.  I LOVE the dusky blue color.


This Fiesta Rayon Boucle was 20% off; Mom wants me to make her a scarf or something with it – I’ve never used rayon yarn before and don’t usually favor boucles either, but the colors are cool and it’s definitely Mom’s sort of thing.  I think she’ll like it when I’m done


I reallyreallyreallyreallyREALLY want some bright, shocking, electric pink laceweight to make Juno Regina, but I couldn’t find it at any of the 4 shops we visited.  So I bought this bright, shocking, electric pink Cascade sock yarn instead.  But I still need the laceweight at some point in the future

(Color is more accurate here.)

Yowza!

Rounding out our Studio goodies, my first-ever Jojoland Melody:

I’m so in love with this sock yarn, it’s ridiculous. I can’t decide if it shall actually become socks, the most kickass stole ever, or something else not yet conceived.  But I think I might take it on the road with me this summer; I need to knit it by a lake.


LOVE.

Our final stop was Yarn Shop & More in downtown Overland Park; I had SUCH a great time here in January (though I later ended up with the flu, by no fault of the shop) that I couldn’t wait to go back!

To settle a bet with Dad, who said that yarn cannot be made of bamboo (and I couldn’t prove otherwise, as I’d left the ballband from my SWTC bamboo scarf-in-progress at home), I picked up a single skein of this:

Mirasol Nuna, a wool/silk/bamboo blend.  And actually, I didn’t just “pick it up.” I picked it up and put it on my shoulder like I was soothing an infant, and stroked it as I walked around the shop.  And you know what?  They didn’t laugh at me at all. If you’re a knitter, you just get it. It’s so soft, it will have to become something close to the skin.  *If* I were going to knit underwear, it would be made of this.  Failing that, perhaps a lacey cowl.

I rounded out the trip with this:

Which is a really pretty (and unusual!) cotton blend by Ester Bitran.  Only 13 stashed on Ravelry.  I just couldn’t resist the yumminess!  There are nearly 400 yards here and I have no idea what I’ll do with it, but I can assure you that it was completely and utterly necessary for my continued existance.  (Or at least, that’s what I told Jeff. I don’t think he believes me; clearly he doesn’t know how critical the situation was.)

So that was my first-ever yarn crawl!  I couldn’t have done it without my mom – literally (she bought most of the stuff for me ).  It was so much fun, and I can’t wait to replicate the experience in Minneapolis, and Chicago, and wherever else I go.

2 responses to “Better than a $7 rum and coke

  1. thanks for this posting. I was in KC this weekend & didn’t get a chance to visit any shops, but now I know where to go. I found a shop in Lexington, MO that I visited. They don’t have a website, but I just posted about them: Woolgathering.

  2. Oooh, I just got some Jojoland Melody too! I’m going to make this (http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/swirl-shawl) in the scarf version!!!

Leave a Reply

