I’ve great expectations for this

The other day I mentioned that I had a few other FO’s to share, but I didn’t want to bombard y’all at once.
I’m sure it will come as a big surprise to no one that Miss Havisham (aka “Gail“) is finished:

And oh, how I love her.

I must admit that yes, this is my third blue-and-purple triangular shawl in less than a year, but can you blame me?

Although I must admit, there were a few times when I wondered – briefly – if this pattern wasn’t more trouble than it was worth.

The pattern is riddled with errors and ambiguous instructions – something the designer freely disclaimers – so I knew what I was getting into (but that doesn’t make them any more fun to encounter).  I also ran out of yarn with just 7 edging rows (3 rs rows and 4 ws rows) left, but by that point I didn’t really care so I just BO and blocked the shiz-nit out of it.

And how does the saying go?  “If you can’t see it from the back of a running horse it doesn’t really matter?”  Something like that.

(check out my dramatically windswept hair in the photo above.  Hawt, right?)

But when it was all said and done, I’m really glad I stuck with it.  I LOVE that lace pattern.  ADORE it.  It’s so very Victorian, no?

The yarn is, of course, the beautiful Chestnut Bay Fibers single-ply fingering weight that I blogged about here, and I’m more in love with it than ever.  I want MOAR MOAR MOAR!  MMmmmyummylicious.

More details on Rav, as always.

And finally, a proclimation:  The next shawl I make will NOT be fingering weight. May be lace, may be sport, (hell, may even be worsted) but it will NOT be fingering.  (Even though fingering weight *is* my favorite, for a myriad of reasons which I will not bore you with today).

Leave a Reply

