My wad, let me show you it

(I promise this post is rated “G”)

(outside Knife River, Minnesota)

On our trip I learned something new that makes me love Minnesota EVEN MORE (if that’s even possible).

In Minnesota, they take their yarn *very* seriously.

There were yarn shops everywhere, and Jeff was kind enough to let me stop at 4 – 2 in St. Paul, 1 in Knife River/Two Harbors, and 1 in Duluth.

And even though I was just supposed to be getting one skein in each one, for a ‘souvenir’, well, I didn’t stick to that too well…

From left to right, my haul is:

~1 skein Malabrigo sock in “Abril”, and in case you can’t tell from the overdark, yellow photo above – it is a *gorgeous* variegated purple that reminds me of the amethysts that are in such ready supply up North.  Mom and I both love amethysts :-).  From The Yarnery in St. Paul.

~2 skeins of Crystal Palace Kid Merino, to make a lace capelet (adorable pattern!).  This is a stash yarn and thus does not count as a souvenir.  From Yarn Harbor in Duluth.

~ (on top at left) 1 skein Malabrigo worsted in “violetas”, to become the Amanda hat for me.

~(on top at right) 1 skein Malabrigo worsted in “vaa”, to become the Armando hat for Jeff.  (Thus, neither of the two previous yarns count as souvenirs).  Both the Malabrigo Worsteds are from The Yarnery in St. Paul.

~(below the purple Malabrigo worsted) 2 skeins of Isager Alpaca 2, a 50/50 alpaca merino sportweight blend that’s amazingly squishy and squeezy and lovey.  From Playing with Yarn in Knife River.

~(the big red blob) 1 skein of Knit Me Now sock yarn, a Duluth local dyer.  The colorway is called “Blueberry pie” (so of course I had to get it!) and in the pic above you can’t see much of the blue half – but it’s there, and it’s gorgeous.  From Yarn Harbor in Duluth.

~1 skein of Cherry Tree Hill (my first time!) Supersocke in “Moody Blues.”  It took SO FREAKING much deliberation to decide on this one.  The sock yarn room in Borealis was like none other.

~1 skein of Dream in Color Starry in “Dusky Aurora”, this was actually my souvenir/bribe from Dad, bought for me at the Yarn Basket in Osage Beach MO last weekend.  I think it’ll have to become the scarf to end all scarves.  So it’s not a Minnesota souvenir either.

~Finally, hidden on the faaaar right, is 1 skein of Wool in the Woods “Touch of Terry” 100% cotton yarn.  Sport-ish weight, about 200 yards.  It was a lonely little orphan at the back of the sale corner in Playing with Yarn and I had to make it mine so I brought it home and cuddled it and whispered sweet nothings at it.  It’s not even in Ravelry! (so of course I rectified that situation immediately)

I’ve gotta give it to Jeff, even though yarn shopping is faaaaar down on his list of “favorite vacation activities”, he was very patient and generous as I browsed.

To express my appreciation in the best way I know how, I did this:

That’s a nearly completed Jeffsweater; only 1 shoulder and all the finishing to go.  I knitted approximately 75% of the darned thing in Minnesota, and I told Jeff “If you don’t wear this, I’ll kill you and bury you in it.”  And I mean it.  And he knows I mean it.

It’s been said before, but it’s worth saying again:  I love yarn. 🙂

One response to “My wad, let me show you it

  1. Awesome S-E-X you had in my fine state of MN. Perhaps I need to visit some of these lovely yarn stores! I am so lost in my little Southeast Corner of the state. I did squee a little bit when you tweeted that you were driving past Blooming Prairie, since it’s only about 20 miles from my house. 🙂

Leave a Reply

