Spoiler: My feet got wet

Hands-down, one of our favorite vacation activities was the afternoon we spent playing at Gooseberry Falls.

As we approached the Falls, helpful signs helped hype us up:

What fun must be in store!  Dangerous AND unpredicatble conditions!

Turns out that was a bit of an exaggeration.

As we were disappointed to find out…

…they’d turned the falls off.

No falls.

NAwwww, just kidding!

(I bet I had you there, didn’t I?)

People were all over the place, scrambling on the rocks and wading in the streams (some, I’m sure, accidentally)

What you can’t see above is that the rocks naturally have a highly textured surface that made them very conducive to scrambling – not slippery at all.

Here’s our friend Jeff again, photographed at an awkward angle to demonstrate his scrambling technique:

10.0, Jeff!

Here, I demonstrate EXTREME KNITTING:

(aka, knitting on the edge of a cliff).

I know, I know, I’m hardcore.

There were several different Falls, in three-ish tiers.  The section up top was the widest and most dramatic, but I think this one was the most beautiful:

This was the lowest, mellowest section:

If Jeff were in high school and I were taking his senior picture, this would be a winner:

Alas, he’s not and I’m not so he just looks like a tool 😛

But y’know what?  We can get even toolier (tool-er?)

CRITICAL TOOLISHNESS ACHIEVED.

And now for something completely different: a hole shaped like a heart!

I’m sure that’s a metaphor for something.  Or it could be.  2c to the person who writes a poem about the above photo.

Slightly less extreme, but still awesome, more knitting:

(I think people pointed and laughed at me as I did this, actually.  The weirdo sitting on a rock and knitting.   Inside my head, I said to them “you think this is weird? You have NO IDEA how weird I can be.”  Outside my head, I said nothing.)

Ahem.

These crazy trees were all over the place – their exposed roots and twisted limbs created all kinds of handholds, seats, and natural steps along the edge of the falls.  They grew in clumps and were pretty awesome.

(btw I have no idea why there are so many contrived, posed photos in this post – that’s not my usual style at all.  Weird.)

Speaking of posed photos:

But you know what?  That one makes me REALLY STINKIN’ HAPPY.  Want to know why?  It’s the first non-arms-length photo of me and Jeff together since, like, our wedding.  Seriously.  I’m going to have that printed in an 8×10 or something.  I’m so thankful for the kindly older gentleman who took this for us.

Gooseberry Falls isn’t just about the falls, though.  There’s also several lovely trails (of varying levels of difficulty), and of course all the wildflowers you could ask for.

I just don’t feel right if I don’t get any macro-ish or natural images.

In the voice of the Pioneer Woman, “It just ain’t fittin’.”

So after we’d romped all we could romp and scrambled all we could scramble, we undertook to walk downstream a ways then cross the stream and take a trail back to the Visitor’s Center.

This “cross the stream” part *almost* worked fabulously:

We got off to a good start, following a family with a toddler and a Boston Terrier, following in their footsteps and laughing as their puppy pranced through the inch-deep water.

But just about the same time the toddler fell in and got his hands wet, everything started going to hell for us too.  And as this post’s title promises:

(that was back at the visitor’s center)

But here’s I’ve gotta add – in my Keens and handknitted wool socks, my feet dried quickly and were toasty warm again after just a couple of hours.  Jeff in his Target socks and tennis shoes?  Well, let’s just say he *still* squishes when he walks 😛

It really was one of the most fun things we did on our trip, and I already can’t wait to go play again next time.  I think I’ll remind Jeff to wear handknit socks, at least 😉

2 responses to “Spoiler: My feet got wet

  1. Gooseberry is so cool – I’ve seen it in all kinds of states – from tranquil to rushing to frozen solid. There are pics in my flickr feed if you need a Gooseberry or Northshore fix 🙂

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/cursingmama/collections/72157613598273644/

  2. I LOVE Gooseberry Falls! I’ve been there atleast 10 times, and I would go every single month if I could–it’s just that beautiful. In fact, I’m taking a trip there at the end of the month! Can’t wait! 🙂

Leave a Reply

