It’s about time

Gather ’round, children, and let me tell you a story.

In March of 2008, I fell in love with a pair of cowboy boots (I bet you know where this is going…).  They were these:

ariat legend brown oiled rowdy

I thought they were the most beautiful boots I’d ever seen – the rich oiled leather, the intricate stitching.  I knew I must own them.

In August of 2008 I bought another pair of Ariats and fell in love with the comfortable footbed, style, and amazing quality.

In September of 2008, lest I be accused of being “fickle”, I reaffirmed my love for my pink Lucchese boots.  As someone who develops an unnatural affection for her footwear anyway, even I must admit that I hold these abnormally close to my heart.

In February of 2009 I resumed my search for the Perfect Boot and was once again led to my true love.  Nothing could beat them.

Many months passed, and my (for I had already begun to think of them as “mine”) boots remained unpurchased, but not forgotten.

In August of 2009, we visited the Mall of America and I got to see my lovelies for the first time in person, to try them on.  My lust became even more pronounced.

On September 2, 2009, all of my wildest dreams came true:

I ORDERED MY BOOTSIES FROM @ZAPPOS !!!!! THEY’LL BE HERE IN 4-5 BUSINESS DAYS OMG I CAN’T WAIT


Then, mere moments after that fateful Tweet, Zappos sweetened the deal:

@kateohkatie If you have an order # I would be more than happy to try and speed of the deliver process for you!

@kateohkatie You are so welcome! ~ You were also sent a special email. 😉 Enjoy your new boots!

Just a second later, I had a special email in my inbox – *lifetime* free next-day shipping (purchases and returns!) and miscellaneous other goodies.  I’ve become a Zappos VIP.  (this is obviously a dangerous priviledge)

I expected delivery of my boots today – Friday – but as it turns out, approximately *20 hours* after I hit the [Order] button…

20 hours and 1 minute after I hit the [Order] button:

The fit is spectacular – a 6.5 (my usual size) was rather difficult to get on the first time, but they’ve loosened up a bit each subsequent time.  They’re tight across the instep and loose in the heel, just as cowboy boots should be.  They’re a bit larger than some 6.5’s I’ve worn, but not so large that I’d go down a size.  After breaking in, they’ll be perfect with thick handknitted socks 🙂

And omg the footbed.  THE FOOTBED.  Read this, and imagine how comfortable that must be.  Then take your imagined comfort, and multiply it to the infinity power. Then double it.  That’s how amazing these shoes are.   I’ve had them on my feet for a grand total of 3 hours (last night and this morning) and I already feel like I could walk for miles in complete comfort.

I love these shoes.

The quality of the stitching is amazing, the colors are beautiful, the leather is soft and wonderfully uneven.  They’re beautiful and detailed but still subtle.

I’m so glad I’ve got them now, but my only regret is that I wasn’t able to buy them a year and a half ago – I could’ve been enjoying them that much longer!

My bank account is $170 lighter, and my heart is at least  three four times bigger.

All my wildest dreams have come true.

One response to “It’s about time

  1. I’m so happy for you! I wish you and your boots a long and happy life together 😀

    (And how about that customer service – wow!)

Leave a Reply

