Denouement

You know what I love?  When I have a lovely new FO, one that I can’t wait to show off.  So I grab Jeff and we dash outside on an overcast day and take photos of me modeling said FO.  And then I put the pics on Ravelry and blog about it and just wait for the accolades to come pouring in.  It’s all the more rewarding when the project is one I’ve put a lot of effort into.

But that’s not what happened this time.  The project was Jeff’s sweater, and rather than excitement and a nice overcast day, our only opportunity offered a crabby model and a sunny day.

I’m so stinkin’ excited to have this sweater done, though, that I’m posting the resulting photos anyway.   Let me just promise you this:  Jeff is much really much cuter and less surly than he may appear in the following images, and the sweater is much nicer.  I promise.

The pattern is EZ’s seamless hybrid sweater; it was my first time working with one of her “recipes” (they’re not really patterns, y’know) and I found her – and it – absolutely charming.  I can understand the rabid fangirlism, I really can.  I couldn’t really visualize what was going to happen with the shoulders, even though I read through the directions several times.  As is often the case with these things, though, it all became clear once I dove in.

Jeff really likes it, too.  It’s very masculine but not completely boring, and he offered his input every step of the way – from choosing the yarn (Cascade 220 from Knitty Couture) to the shoulder type, to the neckline, cuffs, and bottom hem.

(Now this next picture is just *bad* all around, but it’s the only one that shows the bottom hem)

I’d originally worked a turned hem (I helped Jeff choose it by showing him 2 socks – 1 with a turned cuff and 1 with a ribbed – and asking him which he’d prefer for his sweater), decreasing 10% of the stitches after the turn per EZ’s directions.  But once Jeff got it on, he didn’t like the way the hem floated away at his back (hey it’s not my fault he’s so broad-shouldered and skinny!) so I frogged and reworked it in 1×1 rib on a smaller needle, this time without the 10% decrease.  He’s much happier with this result.

So even though it was navy blue stockinette, it wasn’t the worst thing ever.  I hope every time he wears it he remembers me knitting the sleeves on Lake Superior and the yoke on that 11-hour drive home, and how I *didn’t* let laziness win out (for once) and actually re-worked that bottom hem so it’d be just what he wanted.

And he’d *better* wear it, too.

Cause you know what? I told him if he doesn’t, I’ll kill him and bury him in it.
OK, I was just kidding.  Maybe.

4 responses to “Denouement

  1. Looks really good! Makes me want to make one!

  2. Oh my gosh, Kate I love this sweater. You did such a good job–he’d BETTER love it, or I’ll bring the shovel. LOL, just kidding, but it really does rock!

  3. wow! it turned out fantastically well!

  4. Mandi (Mandadawn)

    Very awesome job on the sweater!

Leave a Reply

