The Good Things

Call it whatever you’d like – “something in the water”, benevolence from the Universe, coincidence, or perhaps just because yesterday was my birthday, but I’ve been in an uncharacteristically good mood since yesterday.

I think the cake and yarn (and cakes of yarn!) had something to do with it, actually.

Speaking of cake…

Happy birthday to meeeee!

Angel food (with sprinkles!!!) and raspberry glaze – yes, please!

Nom.  I had a big slice that night and one every night since, and as soon as I finish this post I’ll go polish it off.  Angel food cake is fat free and raspberries are healthy, so I’m safe 😀

The company in Kansas City was exceptional too, of course:

(I said “hehe picture of a dogbutt!” as Eliza walked away and took a picture and Mom started laughing and so now it’s a picture both of my mom looking like this and of a dogbutt.  Combination destined for success, if ya ask me.)

And look! Here’s my better half (Rly, I promise he is), sharing his “put the damn camera away Katie” face:

Charming, isn’t he?  I love him so much I can hardly stand it.

Anyway.  Want to know what else makes me happy?

Renfest.  But I don’t have any pictures from that.  I know, it surprised me too.  But hey, I’ve gotta keep y’all on your toes.

Want to know what else else makes me happy?

That even the punk teenagers in my parents’ neighborhood are awesome.

I’m not the only happy person around here lately, though.  Roxie’s happy too.

Because she loves her grandpa.  He’s her faaaaaavorite and she loves to go visit him.

So yes, the simple things – a delicious birthday cake, time with my loved ones, seeing my puppy have a good time – those all make me happy.

But I’m a material girl living in a material world.  I’m not gonna lie.

My new boots continue to make me exceedingly happy.  Happier than a pair of shoes *should* make a person (unless you’re a person who’s been walking barefoot through the Saharah. Then you’re probably pretty happy to get shoes.  Unless they’re Crocs; I’d probably rather be barefoot in the Saharah than wear Crocs.  But I digress.  (But really, Crocs are awful.  Stay off drugs, kids.))

As per tradition (she tells you, the reader, as if you were a foreigner…perhaps one from a small village in the Saharah…), where there’s a birthday there tend to be birthday presents.

And if you’re me, you’re especially excited about one birthday present in particular:

What a sweet little thing!  What on earth could it be?

It’s about the size of this…

…so it must be…

…a fancy little lens cap holder, of course!

Or a limoges box.  Take your pick 😀

I’ve wanted one of these since I first heard of them several months ago, and in fact I saw one of these blueberry tarts (similar or identical to the one I got!) in an antique shop along Cherokee Street last year with Mom.   Blueberries have a rather special significance for me, so I was thrilled to see two of my interests (small pretty boxes + blueberries) combined into one object!  I love it when that happens 🙂

I wouldn’t call it a “collection” by any stretch of the imagination, but let’s just say that now that I’ve looked at several online, I’m quite fond of the limoges box idea and hope to acquire a few more – each with special significance, of course – in my lifetime.

The assortment of delightful birthday gifts also consisted of more Currier and Ives china for my set, and my mom’s jewelry (it’ll rank its own blog post, soon) from my adoring  fan club parents.  On top of all that, I received The Knitter’s Book of Yarn from Jeff, assorted well-wishes and voicemails from friends and family, and an evening at the ballpark (you bet it’ll get its own post too).  All in all, an excellent birthday – definitely one to remember.

Carrying on with the “material girl” theme:

That’s Yours Truly and Roxie, expertly modelling the Morris Chair from LLBean, a piece of furniture I’ve lusted after for quite a while (see how I use “amount of time I’ve wanted it” as justification for buying things?).  Love the arts-and-crafts styling, the strong lines and dark wood.  It’s exceedingly cozy and comfortable, and will fit perfectly into my overall vision for our home (the taupe recliner, however, does *not* fit into that vision.  Shall I share again how much I hate that chair and how eager I am for its departure?).   It arrived on Friday night right before we left town, and when we got back on Sunday Jeff and I put it together (only took about 45 minutes!).  I love it.

And I love that silly blonde dog in the photo, but you knew that.

I think my current state of happiness right now at this very instant *maaaayyyy* have been influenced by this, too:

THAT was the triple-layer chocolate mousse-filled cake which they brought into work for me.  I was nice enough to share with all my co-workers, even though I didn’t really want to.  (Just between me and you, I *might* have had more than my fair share of the dark chocolate curls)

And the last thing that makes me happy?

It’ll be the first thing I discuss tomorrow.  This post has gotten long enough 🙂
Have a wonderful night, everyone!

5 responses to “The Good Things

  1. Never in my life have I wanted angel food cake so badly. Is there a recipe that I can have? Oh my god. Want.

    Your parents LOOK so sweet! I never see people who look sweet!

    It sounds like your birthday was a terrific one, and you deserve it!

  2. Happy birthday hon! That cake looks delicious.

  3. No, really. Recipe? Pretty please!

  4. Happy (belated) Birthday!!! Sounds like you had a wonderful one!

  5. Dude, I knew it was your birthday, I’m just super busy with school and such. So HAPPY BIRTHDAY, friend! I dig the haircut. And your brown boots! You look good, my dear 🙂

Leave a Reply

