Another great Friday

Tomorrow is my boss’s birthday, so at lunch today we had a little celebration at work.  A co-worker brought taco soup and chips, and I brought cornbread and german chocolate cupcakes (the latter being the boss’s “favorite”, apparently).  And man, oh-man that taco soup was delicious!  I can already tell you I’ll be adding it to my standard repertoire 🙂

Here’s the recipe, for anyone interested:

Taco Soup

Ingredients

1 pound lean ground beef (or turkey, or Boca crumbles)
1 large onion chopped
1 can 15 oz. Kidney beans, with juice
1 can 15 oz fat free refried beans
1 can 15 oz chili beans, with juice
1 can 15 oz corn, with juices
1 can 15 oz dices tomatoes, with juice
2 cups water
1 can 4 oz green chiles
1 pkg taco seasoning
1 pkg dry Hidden valley Original Ranch Dressing Mix

Brown meat and onion. Drain. Pat to remove excess grease. Combine meat mixture with remaining ingredients. Bring to a boil. Simmer 15-20 minutes.  (My note:  Also works in the Crock Pot!)

Makes approx 15 cups.

APPROX 2.5 WEIGHTWATCHERS POINTS per Cup

Suggestion: serve with tortillas or cornbread.

It really was fantastic!  A batch and a half filled up her crockpot, and the 8 of us polished off almost the whole thing (granted, there are several hearty eaters in the group).

(And the cupcakes and cornbread got good reviews as well.  Of course, you can never go wrong with cupcakes!)

I love cooking for my co-workers. They’re very appreciative, to the point that when I *don’t* bring something in every few weeks, the subtle hints begin…“You know, Kate, I really like your chocolate chip cookies.” …”Remember that coffee cake you brought, Kate? I liked that.” …”My birthday’s coming up, and I love your blueberry muffins”…and so on and so forth.

It’s nice having such an appreciative audience!*

*What, compared to at home where Jeff regularly throws my baking out the window? 😛

Leave a Reply

