Happy Christmahannukwanzaa!

Our Christmas didn’t turn out exactly as expected – we didn’t make it to Kansas City (solid ice and 8″ of snow in the western part of the state prevented that), but it ended up being OK anyway.  We went to Jeff’s family dinner on Christmas eve, where the socks I’d knitted for Jeff’s sister and the shawl for his cousin went over really well.  The red velvet cake I’d made didn’t survive the car trip, but that’s a story for another day…

We had a quiet Christmas morning in our cozy little house with its super-clanky radiators and crazy deer-like puppydog, and wiled away the weekend playing with our new toys – an 8GB Ipod Nano (pink, of course!) and the Penguin Classics edition of Jane Eyre for me.  I’d sent Jeff that Design*Sponge link a few months ago with a brief “wow aren’t those books cool?!” comment, and not only did he remember, but he was able to track down one of my favorite novels of all time, to boot 🙂  The Ipod was all him – and a total surprise to me!  It’s a major upgrade from my old 1GB Sansa.  It’s my first ever Ipod, and now that I’ve been playing around with it for a few days, I can totally see why they’ve got such a stronghold on the market – that thing is COOL!  It’s tiny and it’s SO well-designed and fun (and pink!).  Love it 🙂

Jeff already got his big gift a couple weeks ago, but I made sure he had a few things to open on Christmas morning – the Star Trek DVD (2-disk version, and yes – I even sat and watched an hour and a half of special features with him!), a couple books, and a phaser ornament for the tree.  It was a very nerdy, geeky holiday for him 🙂

We bought Roxie one of those rawhides as big as her leg, and she worked steadily on it throughout the weekend, ’till one evening when Jeff tried to take it from her and she snapped at him.  Then he really DID take the rawhide, and it went straight into the trash.  But that was a small blip on an otherwise wholly pleasant weekend.

Like I said above, we really didn’t end up doing much over the weekend – saw Avatar in 3D (an effect which was wasted on me, what with my lack of depth perception and all…), hit up the Knitorious sale (I’d received a gift card from Jeff’s cousins!) and bought Harry Potter 6 on DVD (2 disk verison, and yes – he even sat and watched an hour and a half of special features with me!).  Mostly we just stayed cozy inside, reading and hanging out.  And it was WONDERFUL.

3 responses to “Happy Christmahannukwanzaa!

  1. Sounds like you had a great Christmas. That book is lovely!

  2. So you made a shawl for Jeff’s cousin…

Leave a Reply

