A New Hope

I have so much to blog about – so many exciting things from this past weekend in Kansas City, and stretching back even further.  But I guess the best I can do is address them one at a time, one day at a time.

The most exciting thing from last weekend is, without a doubt, my “big” (and big) Christmas gift from Mom and Dad:

Have you ever known a person to blog from beyond the grave?  No?  Well now you have.  Because when I got this, I died.  (See? I even Tweeted it).

I must have been a very good girl this year, because Santa sure treated me well – a KitchenAid Professional 600, in a gorgeous velvety heart-stoppingly amazing steel blue color.

I immediately tore it out of the box and hauled it into their kitchen and whipped up an angel food cake, and I tell you what – this mixer is AMAZING.  I cannot wait to make bread! and cookies! and marshmallows!

Everything about it is so solid, so strong.  The bowl lifts (unlike the lower-priced KitchenAid mixers, where the mixer head tilts backwards), adding extra strength and durability to the whole system.  It has a 575 watt motor, which doesn’t mean much to me but I assume translates to “really freaking powerful.”  It weighs about 40 lb, which means that once it has a home on my counter, it’s gonna STAY on the counter 🙂

And it’s so elegant in its simplicity!  The speeds are 1-10, not “mashed potatoes” through “egg whites”.  There’s no digital display or timer or a voice that yells at you when it’s time to add more liquid.  Just beautiful, simple, mixer.

It came with three pieces:  a wire whisk (in the machine, pictured above), a paddle for cookie doughs &etc:

…and an evil-looking dough hook for pizza dough, bread dough, grandma’s hot roll dough, and whatever other doughs I might fancy to knead:

Holy cow, I love this thing.

9 responses to “A New Hope

  1. It’s beautiful – I’m sure it will be an amazingly useful tool for you.

  2. Jealous! That looks amazing!

  3. Eeeeeee! I’m so happy for you! We were just talking about our KitchenAid tonight. Well. *I* was talking about *my* KitchenAid, and trying not to be TOO smug about it.

    I use mine at least four times a week. It’s awesome. You’ll love it. 🙂

  4. This is amazing. I am terribly terribly jealous! I found you on TheCorporateChick.com and just dropped by to say Hello! 🙂 Can’t wait to read more!

  5. oh wow — what a great present! i’ve wanted one of these babies for years. congratulations. 🙂

  6. Marshmallows?! Dang, I wish someone would make ME some marshmallows.

    That appliance is strange and scary to me. But I love the fact that immediately upon opening it, you made a cake. Are you an alien?

  7. Jealous. Very jealous.

  8. Pingback: Speed racer! « KateOhKatie blogs

  9. Pingback: Just Like Grandma’s | KateOhKatie blogs

Leave a Reply

