Real quick…

We’re in Chicago!  The trip was super easy (Amtrak is awesome) and I should do more of a full post about that in the future, but first I have a confession to make.

Remember the other day how I blogged about those plain stockinette socks I cast on?  How it was just knit knit knit knit knit knit knit knit knit therapy?  Well, when we got on the train yesterday I brought several modes of Katetertainment (Kate + entertainment):

Looks good, right? Persuasion (which I’m almost done with), Sense and Sensibility, my iPod with its games, and of course that blue and brown sock yarn.

Only, the knitting felt *really good*.  And before I knew it, we were 3 hours into the trip and…

Oops.

Not only is that a personal new record for sock knitting (95% of a sock in ~3 hours), but getting in the Zone helped me figure something out.  It helped remind me why I love knitting; what makes it so amazing (if I may be so trite).  And why a plain vanilla (or plain waffle, or 2×2 rib, or what-have-you) sock is the absolute best secret for restoring one’s knitting mojo.  Think about how you knit a plain vanilla sock top-down:


You knit the cuff.

You knit in stockinette for a while.

You knit a heel.

You turn the heel.

You knit the gusset.

You knit the foot.

You knit the toe.

You kitchener off.

The boring ribbing is rewarded by the soothing, mindless stockinette.  Just when you can’t take it any more, the heel!  And since most heel varieties include at least *some* stitch pattern and purling, it’s a bit of a diverting exercise.  Turning the heel is great fun, but the gusset is a chore (I don’t know about you, but the happiest moment is when I make that final gusset decrease.  I don’t know why I hate them so).  After all that you’re ready for more mindless stockinette, and you’re rewarded with it.  Then the toe, which always goes quickly because you’re SO CLOSE!  Kitchener closed, and you’re done.

Isn’t there a lovely rhythm to that?  There’s never too much of the same thing, and the exciting/stressful/whatever parts are broken up by peaceful lulls of knit knit knit knit knit knit knit.

Which is why…

I couldn’t wait to start the next one.

One response to “Real quick…

  1. Wow! That IS amazing! Love the colors.

Leave a Reply

