Love in the Time of Cholera

Or, if you don’t have cholera, how about “Love in the time of Penguin Classics”?  I mean, that’s practically the same thing, right?

You might recall that last fall, I emailed Jeff with an “zomg! Beautiful Penguin Classics!” email via Design*Sponge.  And then for Christmas he surprised me with the beautiful edition of Jane Eyre.

So I’ll give you one guess – what do you think I got for Valentine’s Day?

They look so lovely together, don’t you think?

I absolutely LOVE these gorgeous editions – each one has a clothbound cover design that relates to the book in some pivotal way.

Others on my personal wishlist:

Sense and Sensibility

Pride and Prejudice

The Picture of Dorain Gray

Great Expectations

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through The Looking Glass

Emma

Many, many more are available too.  Wouldn’t a whole shelf of these be gorgeous?  I really hope Penguin doesn’t discontinue these anytime soon…

PS>I’ll save my “ugh why do people buy books just for looks/pretentiousness?!” for another day, but I assure you that as soon as I finish Sense and Sensibility (wrinkled old paperback, much loved) then I’ll be revisiting Wuthering Heights.  Last time I read it was in college, and then it was with the “frantic 100 pages a night for this class plus i have four other classes too you know” pace.  I can’t wait to revisit it and reread at a more human pace 😀

PPS>I have the greatest husband in the entire world.  EVER.  E-V-E-R.

6 responses to “Love in the Time of Cholera

  1. wow, these are such pretty books! a whole bunch of them would go great against a pretty white bookshelf!!

  2. I LOVE pretty books. I can’t believe I let myself get talked into wanting an e-reader. I’m mostly going to use it for crap books that I don’t care about collecting. I’ll never be able to give up by musty old books.

    Oh, I have a yarn question for you. I found this great looking yarn on an etsy for a great price but it doesn’t list the weight, what’s the best way to make sure I use the right needles? I’m probably going to have to gauge, right? Also, have you ever found a yarn that made every project you had in mind for it seem silly?

  3. Pretty! I really want to purchase another one to go with my Bickford-Smith copy of Jane Eyre (which I sadly purchased with a gift card, although I have THREE other copies of Jane Eyre). I think Sense and Sensibility is going to be my next one.

    What a sweet Valentine.

  4. Oh, you are so mine. I’ve always always put off buying cologne, clothing that I thought cost too much, etc. but thought nothing of purchasing a beautiful book. Books are gold. Have you ever seen the movie Dorian Gray??loved it.

  5. I was JUST telling Jarod yesterday about these, and they’re even sitting in my Amazon cart!!

    AM JEALOUS.

  6. Wow those are pretty. Wuthering Heights is my favorite book. I own it in tattered paperback as well as a hardbound collection of the Bronte sister books. I love these though. Maybe just the Bronet books and Alice in Wonderland (my other fav) would look lovely together on a shelf? And let me say I judge books by covers all the time. Not to say I dont read any non-pretty book covers but definitely a pretty cover makes me at least read the summary at the back just to see if the book peaks my interest.

Leave a Reply

