Happiness

Is there any better small pleasure in life, than that when you arrive home after a long day at work to find a package wedged in your mail slot?  All the better if you’re a knitter and the package bears the return postmark from one of your favorite dyers.

Even EVEN better if it’s another yarn that you’d agreed to  test-knit for her:

That there is a new silk/wool blend that Rachel is trying out.  It’s from a different mill than the last one I test-knitted, and I’m really excited to try this – it’s very different than the other, which is fascinating considering that the weight and fiber contents are more-or-less identical.  I can’t wait to see how it knits up, but first I have to find the perfect pattern! 🙂

Maybe it’s just the sunny 40* day we had today, but this yarn is just shouting “spring!” to me.  I’m thinkin’ something lacy and drapey for the upcoming warm weather?

But you know what’s even better than a purdy new skein of yarn?  When aforementioned dyerfriend tucks something extra into the package:

That’s Rachel’s tussah silk, and it’s pure deliciousness in  yarn form.  I haven’t decided yet if I want to eat this, use it as a pillow, or knit it.  I may not decide for a while yet.  (If I don’t decide to nom it, perhaps I’ll knit it into the Split Cable Wimple – my possession of the pattern being the result of another knitterly kindness – if that Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool doesn’t work out?).

Seriously – how can you NOT want to devour this?

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – knitters are unequivocally the nicest people in the entire world.  I feel so honored to be a member of this community.

And now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got some knitting to do (wow it feels good to say that! :-))

PS>HOLY HI ISO, BATMAN!  But also – would you ever believe that these photos were taken in a dark house at night with no tripod? NO YOU WOULD NOT.  As long as you don’t notice the noise 🙂

PPS>Yes, that is a wrinkled bedsheet – plucked straight from the dirty laundry hamper – serving as my photo backdrop.  what’s it to ya?

PPPS>Strangling Vine is still going.  It’s quick and pretty and sparkly and I’ve nothing bad to say about it.

Leave a Reply

