I made one

Hey guys!  Guess what?

I MADE A YARN!  A real yarn!  I made it!  Me! Kate! Made a yarn!  A YARN.

WHOA.

Here’s how I did it: I spinned and spinned and spinned and spinned and then I plied and plied and plied and plied and then I cursed and cursed and cursed and cursed.  And then I niddy noddied and niddy noddied and niddy noddied and niddy noddied.  And then I soaked and soaked and soaked and soaked and soaked and hung and hung and hung and hung and hung.  And now – A YARN!!!

This was my yarn before its bath:

(I untwisted the hank before soaking it)

And this was it after:

I know it’s hard to tell from photos, but it’s soooo much softer and fluffier and happy now.  Soaking it and hang-drying it turned it from “yarn-like spinning result” to “zomg I made a YARN!!!”

I’m rather pleased with myself, obviously.

Even if it is rather underplied.

Even if the second half of the skein is about a DK weight and the first half is a thick-and-thin cobweb to superbulky.  (I learned how to spin a bit more evenly about midway through.)

Even if there are parts that are really overspun, and some that are very much under.

I have never, ever, EVER in my entire LIFE worked harder for 100 yards* of crappy yarn.

Nor have I ever been so proud to own 100 yards crappy yarn.

I MADE A YARN!!!


*Rough estimate.  I forgot to measure it.  But my niddy-noddy has an 18″ shaft and there are a couple extra inches in there besides, so it may be sorta accurate.  Maybe. Probably not.

7 responses to “I made one

  1. It sure is pretty! yum. What are you going to make with it? or is this what it is? Cause if it’s already done just the way it is then good. It’s pretty. 😀

  2. What a Most awesome and pretty yarn!

  3. It’s not crappy!!! It’s beautiful! I definitely would have put it on my “Fab-u-lous yarns that make me drool” post had I seen it before I wrote it! Beautiful job!

  4. It looks gorgeous! I love that you plied it – it makes the candy-cane effect even yummier.

  5. You know you really shouldn’t call your husband a Niddy Noddy. But with an 18″ shaft now I know why you married him!!! LOLOLOLOLOL.

    Sorry…just couldn’t pass it up!!! 🙂

    I wish I knew how to knit.

  6. Wow! Sell that on Etsy! Wait! Don’t. Because then I’d have to buy it for you. Bad idea.

    This is so pretty and it will look great as a scarf or something for ME.

  7. Pingback: That thing I do | KateOhKatie blogs

Leave a Reply

