Request

Jeff leaves for Columbia on Sunday (::sniff::) and while the amount of preparation is minimal – the place he’s subletting comes fully furnished – there are still a few things we need to do.

For example, I’m making him scour the entire house for spiders, killing every single one so none of the nefarious little assholes can sneak out and scare me during the week.  (Hey, it’s cheaper than paying for me to stay in a hotel for four nights)

I’ve also developed a strict schedule of sobbing and clinging to his shirt – starting easy, with only about an hour tonight; escalating up to 6 or 7 hours on Sunday.

But somewhere in between all that, I also need to sort out what to feed him (here’s where you come in).

We’ve got this idea – err, we’re going to try, anyway – each weekend when he comes home, I’m going to load him up with pre-prepared food for the following week.  I’m going to fix him 5 lunches (leftovers, sandwiches, etc.) in Pyrex containers, and then I also want to send him a small casserole pan full of deliciousness, for dinners and such.  He can supplement that with fresh fruit and yogurt, and that way he will neither starve, nor end up at Wendy’s or Sonic for every meal.

That’s the plan, anyway.

So I’ve got several easily reheatable entrees – chicken and pasta casserole, (turkey sausage) lasagne, (chicken) enchiladas, (vegetarian) stuffed shells – each one fitting in with our (ok mostly my) mammal-meat-free diet.  And I can make him (turkey) chili at some point, too (not just a wintertime food for Jeff!).  But that’s not quite enough for ten weeks, is it?

So could you, dear blogfriends, please post below (or link below) your favorite 9×13 entrees?  Keep ’em free of dead cows or pigs or Duggar-esque ingredients, if you please. 🙂

Meanwhile, I’ve got to get in my daily quota of sobbing and pleading.  Pass the Kleenex.  Dignity? Who needs dignity?

8 responses to “Request

  1. I’m not much help with the food because when Kevin leaves I’m the one eating Sonic and Wendy’s. I can relate with the sobbing because spring/summer is Kevin’s busy season when he travels a lot. I usually pout for about 12 hours before he leaves, and 12 hours after he leaves.

  2. I must say I just checked out Jim Bob and Michelle’s recipe page at your link and some of that seems pretty good. 🙂

  3. MEXICAN CHICKEN! My favorite from childhood and so easy:

    2 boxes Old El Paso Cheesy Mexican rice (or just Mexican rice; cheesy can be hard to find)
    1 can Frito Lay cheese dip
    1 8 oz container sour cream
    2-3 breasts of chicken, cooked

    Shred the cooked chicken. Cook the rice according to the box instructions. Mix all four ingredients together and bake about 40 minutes at 350 to get it warm and bubbly. DELICIOUS!

    Pioneer Woman’s Chicken Spaghetti is also really good. I admit it; I fix it and eat it. I’ll try to think of more casseroles for your Jeff in the meantime.

  4. “Nefarious assholes” Now see, that is something I would say! Not good with the recipes one freezes or stores away. I’m really not much of a leftover gal. I just cook, eat, and hope that Jim vacuums down the rest before day 2.

  5. http://sally-nichole.xanga.com/726922874/for-kate/

    I had too many ideas for just a comment. You got your own post.

  6. I’ve been keeping a folder on my browser bar of foods that I find appealing. There were too many for just one comment. You get your own xanga post. enjoy.
    http://sally-nichole.xanga.com/726922874/for-kate/

  7. Check out my favorite cookbook: “Don’t Panic Dinner’s in the Freezer”. There’s also “Don’t Panic, More Dinner’s in the Freezer” but I don’t own that one. There’s one chapter of beef & pork but I often replace the ground beef with ground turkey = PERFECTION!

  8. If you haven’t already seen it, check out the blog of 2 Frugal Foodies. They have posted dozens (maybe hundreds now) of recipes, many of which would freeze well and make good week-long leftovers.

Leave a Reply

