For you

On Thursday night I attended the super-awesome Shakespeare Festival with Jeff’s mom and cousins.

I brought along lemon bars.

We ate lemon bars.

It was a good time.

(not just because of the lemon bars)

(though I’m sure they helped)

And because it’s Saturday, and because I just bought yarn, and because I have a tomato in my garden, and because I’m procrastinating on starting dinner, tonight I shall share the recipe with you.

You can thank me later.

Specifically, after you make them.

Because you will make them.

That’s an order, Private!

Coconut Lemon Bars

by: Kate’s Dad

Crust:

1/2c softened butter

1 1/3c all purpose flour

1/4c sugar

1/3c shredded coconut (toasted, if you’d like)

Filling:

2 eggs

3/4c sugar

2T all purpose flour

1/4t baking powder

3T lemon juice (FRESH SQUEEZED!!!!)

1/2c shredded coconut (toasted, if you’d like)

powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350* F.  Combine crust ingredients using pastry cutter and hands, until well mixed.  Press into ungreased 8 x 8 x 2 pan.  Bake at center of oven for 15-20 minutes, or until brown at edges.

Combine all filling ingredients and mix well.  Pour filling over pre-baked crust.  Bake for 18-20 minutes, or until set.  Cool slightly; sift powdered sugar over bars.

Store, covered, in refrigerator.

You might as well go ahead and make a double batch (I use a 9×13 pan then – they’re slightly thicker bars then, too); they’re sure to go quickly.

I promise.

7 responses to “For you

  1. PLEASE save those edges for me! I ❤ them! Thanks.

  2. Oh my- I love Shakespeare AND lemon bars AND coconut. Thank you for sharing!

    Steph

  3. QUESTION:

    Is it regular all purpose flour? I’m assuming these wouldn’t need self rising, but just checking.

  4. Pingback: Modifications « KateOhKatie blogs

  5. Pingback: Shakespeare Festival 2010, Part I « KateOhKatie blogs

  6. Oh Yum. I’m headed to the kitchen RIGHT NOW.

  7. (I suppose I should get to the eating part before I leave ANOTHER comment. But I don’t want to.)

    You forgot to mention how AMAZING they smell while mixing and baking.

Leave a Reply

