Shakespeare Festival 2010, Part I

As I mentioned the other day, on Thursday night I was able to join Jeff’s mom and cousins at the St. Louis Shakespeare Festival in Forest Park, for an evening of Hamlet, wine, surreptitious texting, and blueberry cheese.

We had lovely weather – warm and clear, and we nabbed a spot under a big, shady tree.

I was actually a bit surprised at the turnout for a Thursday night; the crowd was as big as I’d ever seen it on a weekend.

We had a whole spread – cheese, crackers, roll-ups, hummus, pita chips, fruit salad and lemon bars.

The most delicious cheese ever in the history of existence:

It was so good that that night I even *dreamed* about buying it.  So the cheese was either really delicious, or manipulative and mildly hallucinogenic.

Only one problem though – how to open plastic wrap without scissors?

A US#1 DPN, of course!

It was worth it though – check out this cheese’s name!

(Katie G will never forgive me for that photo.  Katie, I’m sorry.  Truly.  Well, maybe.  A bit.)

Here’s what happens when you try to take a picture when there’s unopened wine around:


Eh.  Close enough.

A toast!

To Edward de Vere, the 17th Earl of Oxford!

I knitted ’till it got too dark to see.

More on that soon.

Oh yeah, and there was a play going on amongst all the eating and knitting and wine drinking.

And a darn good play, at that.

The ghost of Hamlet’s father was amazing – eerie and sad and mesmerizing.

Gertrude and Claudius were bumbling and vaguely malicious – just as they should be.

Rosenkrantz and Gildenstern made me giggle.

And Hamlet was a spoiled little brat, prancing around the stage and acting just as a rotten little prince should.  We were far enough from the stage I couldn’t see his face, so I imagined him as Giovanni Ribisi.

Ophelia was thoroughly adequate, though not especially haunting or tragic.

The second half was interrupted by fireworks celebrating the Zoo’s 100th anniversary (remember what I said?); when they started all actors paused and froze, gesturing to the northern sky:

I loved it.

It was a good evening.

4 responses to “Shakespeare Festival 2010, Part I

  1. You left “surreptitious texting” out of your tags.

  2. I hate it when you do posts like this, it really reinforces my husband’s claim that everything in St. Louis is awesome and Atlanta is lame. Looks like a really delightful way to spend an evening!

  3. oh my! What a great time!!! I’ll have to look for something like that in our area. I love being outside with family and friends with some food and drink. Looks like it was a beautiful clear evening too for fireworks. What is your climate like? Is it humid?

  4. Pingback: The way it turns out « KateOhKatie blogs

Leave a Reply

