Before and After

Believe it or not, a nice little pile of dishcloths hasn’t exactly been the only productive knitting around here lately.

I knit an Invisibility Shawl (Rav link) for my bloggy partner, and fellow Harry Potter nerd, Jen.

And because Jen reads my blog, I couldn’t exactly talk about the shawl, even though at various times I did blog it in plain sight (figuring – probably correctly – that Jen wouldn’t figure out it was for her).

If this looks familiar to you, that might be because I already made one, here.  In fact (brag alert!) it’s my project photo that’s listed on the pattern main page.  (don’t worry, I won’t pull a muscle patting myself on the back).

So after Jen extensively admired mine, I decided that one good turn deserved another.

And maybe eventually another and another.

I love this pattern, y’all.  Nothing revolutionary about it, but it’s so simple and pretty and effective, and so much fun to knit.

And the Jaggerspun Zephyr is one of my most favoritest yarns of all time.  Now that this is out, I only have ~60 grams left.  When that is gone, I will cry.

Here’s me, putzing around with mine on the Truman campus in early 2008:

And just for  shits and giggles scientific research (and to prove that I didn’t just give mine away), I decided to do a side-by-side comparison before sending Jen’s Austin-ward*:

Left: new

Right: old

Really, I don’t think mine is in that bad of shape, all things considering.

The yarn seems to hold up marvelously well, and even though mine could stand for a wash and block, they’re really pretty comparable – mine isn’t at all saggy or dull, and there’s very little pilling.

I’m so glad you ❤ it, Jen!

~~~

*Yes, I sent a wool shawl to Austin in June.  Really.

4 responses to “Before and After

  1. ::sniffing:: I don’t have one. Want to see my scar?

  2. I don’t know why but I thought it was gonna be a pregnancy announcement. Haha. Love the pattern too though. 😛

  3. I’m so obsessed with it, mama. SO obsessed.

  4. I am SO behind on my comments (53 bookmarks to be exact), but I had to tell you how much I LURVE this! So gorgeous. Must knit me one pronto.

Leave a Reply

