8 Years in the making

I have been working on it since at *least* 2002.

I pieced pinwheels at Grandma’s house (every one of ’em traced and cut by her).

I arranged strips while hiding in my parents’ basement during the 2003 tornado.

I stitched my way sporadically through college, hanging out in the MO Hall 5North lounge.

There’s always more to do.

Eventually I ran out of the white blocks – “snowballs” – and had to beg Grandma to cut and send me some more.

My knitting sits abandoned.

And now I’m almost done; I’m attacking these last few rows marathon-style, trying to get them done by next weekend’s visit to Grandma.

But you know what?  I’m not sure I’m ready.  I’ve been through a lot with this quilt; what will I do when it’s quilted and bound and spread out on the bed?

Guess I’ll have to start another – 2018, here we come! 😀

3 responses to “8 Years in the making

  1. It’s another great Katie/Grammie project, though, and think how gorgeous it is. Remember when Allie helped you that time in the middle of the great room floor?

  2. Impressive! Can’t wait to see it all finished!

  3. Wow. That is the ultimate in patience. What a great story of craft sharing with your Grandmother.

Leave a Reply

