I still don’t get the whole viola thing

Here’s how it is.

We had a product rep come into the office today, to drop off some materials.  This is the email conversation which ensued between Esteemed Co-Worker* and myself:

Kate:

Know who he looks like?

___

ECW:

Your momma!

Actually, I don’t know.  Who?

___

Kate:

OK upon further inspection it’s mostly just from the side (nose is wrong), but I totally see a David Cross influence.  More David-Cross-esque than an actual lookalike.

___

ECW:

Do all 40 year old, balding with glasses look like David Cross to you?  You anti-David-Crossist!!!

___

Kate:

How does that make me anti-David-Cross?   That don’t make no sense at all. Not one whit.

___

ECW:

If one thinks all black people or white people look alike, one is routinely accused of “they-all-look-alike syndrome”, a low-grade version of racism.  If all 40 year old, balding with glasses men look like David Cross to you, then, viola, [I think he meant “voila”] you have a low-grade version of anti-David-Crossism.  It’s all very logicamal.

___

Kate:

I’d call that David-Crossist (an analogue to racist) since there’s no “anti” about it.

Also, I don’t know where violas factor into the whole thing – unless you’re talking about the Other David Cross, which makes little sense to me but what do I know?

___

ECW:

Violas factor into a lot of things.  The question I have for you, how could you hate Tobias?

___


Now, after I picked myself up off the floor and wiped the tears out of my eyes, you *know* what I had to do:

And that’s what’s hanging on the wall behind my desk, right now.  Right this very instant.  I’m looking at it as I type this.  I can’t tear my eyes from it.

I thought you’d like to know.

~~~

*Or “Excremental Cow Waste.  Whichever you prefer.


4 responses to “I still don’t get the whole viola thing

  1. Ha! I work with a vendor at my job that looks like Randy Quaid in Kingpin. My boss even agrees.

  2. This amuses me greatly. I think everyone should have Tobias hanging up in their workspace.

  3. random, absolutely nothing to do with your post but I can’t haelp myself:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/49406673/sierra-necklace-coral-and-new-jade

    have you seen this? I just love it. ‘night.

  4. This is funny to me for my BFF’s husband who is only 30 something looks like David Cross, minus the balding thing, but give him 10 years.

Leave a Reply

