Gag

Last night I fixed a 4-lb pork butt to make (Dad’s famous) pulled pork for a work potluck today.

I just about gagged while massaging in the rub and garlic into the cold, dead flesh.

After 8 hours in the crockpot, my house reeks of pork.

This aversion to meat is no longer intellectual, but has crossed the line into pure, visceral disgust.

I’d thought I would be able to cook meat for others, but I can’t.  Never again.  I’ve been a vegetarian (to varying degrees) for over half my life, and don’t plan on changing anytime soon.

(image source)

How could anyone eat the widdwe beebee pictured above?

But you know what’s NOT disgusting?  And what didn’t used to have a face? Tofu, that’s what.

I love you, tofu.

8 responses to “Gag

  1. I ❤ Pig :):):)

    It is a cute picture though…..

    Sorry cute pig…….

  2. I ❤ tofu! What would i ever do without it???

  3. You should think about reading “Green Barbarian” but be warned, the author has some concerns about the high levels of an estrogen-like protein in soy! Otherwise, might be right up your alley.

  4. I am not a vegetarian, but even I have a hard time eating anything with ‘butt’ in the title.

  5. good thing I make some mean spaghetti sauce…(no meat even)

  6. Ha – I was immediately drawn to the picture and then I started reading the post. “Wait… a minute.”

    Tofu is a very good friend.

  7. I love to eat pork. We also made a pulled pork recipe this weekend for a potluck. The church folk also share my love of pork it seems, since we brought home less than one sandwich of a 11 lb roast.

    I don’t eat much meat anymore but I’m not sure my life could be complete without bacon.

    That is a cute pig though.

  8. Wish I could be veg, but I don’t eat most veggies… I’m the girl who sees a cattle truck on the interstate and can’t eat cow the rest of the day or pig or chicken or whatever it may be… I feel bad for the little guys and don’t like to think about it. I don’t eat fish at all though.. it looks too much like it did when alive.

Leave a Reply

