::annoying whistle::

Inspired by Annie, I’ve decided to try and put together a list of 10 things I like about St. Louis.  Most of these are things I’ve only discovered since we moved here in 2008, and will miss when we move away.

I’ve been percolating this idea for a week now, and think I’ve finally come up with a full ten.  And they aren’t even backhanded! (well, most of them anyway)

10 Things That Are Pretty OK About St. Louis

1)Forest Park.  It’s an amazing asset with tons of free or low-priced attractions like the Art Museum, the Zoo, the Science Center, and the Muny.  Then of course there’s the Shakespeare Festival (my writeup here), awesome trails, and a golf course if you’re into that sort of thing.  Plus I live about a mile from there 🙂

2)City Garden.  I’m here just about every day on my lunchtime walks, and more than once I’ve been tempted to slip off my shoes and play in the fountains 🙂  It’s great for bringing people downtown!

3)The Loop.  Maybe it’s just because I’m there several times a week (my house is less than a mile away; I pass it on my way to the train every day), but there’s no better district IMNSHO.  Great restaurants, fun little shops, *fantastic* people-watching.  What’s not to love?

4)Which reminds me…the public transit!  Between riding my bike and taking the train, I only drive my car *maybe* once a week, when I’ve gotta go out into the suburbs or buy a bag of dog food or whatever.   St. Louis has a lot of room for improvement on promoting alternative transportation methods – bike lanes are few and far between and the train lines are sorely limited – but at least they’re there.  It’s slowly improving, I’ve gotta give the city and municipalities’ planners credit for that.  (Oh – and there’s WeCar downtown – amazing!)

5)The yarn shops.  I’m especially partial to Knitorious and Knitty Couture, but there are lots of other amazing LYS’s here, as well.  Who needs Hobby Lobby? 😛  (Oh – and there’s going to be a big crawl next weekend, too!  Wish I weren’t on a diet…)

6)Ted Drewe’s.  Mmmm…

7)The Indie crafter scene.  StL Craft Mafia, and festivals like Green with Indie and Strange Folk (my writeup here).  Then add random farmer’s market awesomenes and the Craft Alliance, and you’re in crafter heaven.

8)The architecture (And I’m not just saying that ’cause I’m in the industry).  Gorgeous eye-candy homes along Lindell north of Forest Park, beautiful old buildings downtown (those that haven’t been razed, that is), great historic neighborhoods.  If you’re willing to drive through the suburban wasteland to get there, there’s really a lot of beauty to be found 🙂

9)The mayor is on Twitter and it’s every bit as dorky as you’d imagine.  And then some.

10)Great local foods and brews.  SchlaflyFitz’sprovel cheeseSquare One –  Joe Boccardi’s pizzagooey butter cakeCrown Candy Kitchen.  YUM!  (And yes, Ted Drewe’s still merits its own listing up above :-D)

One response to “::annoying whistle::

  1. i wish i could drive once a week. it’d be great to live in a city with so much alternative transporation! 😉

    just had to stop by b/c when i saw this blog…i totally thought of you. :o)

    http://www.stylemepretty.com/2010/07/19/bridal-shower-inspiration/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+typepad%2Fstyle_me_pretty+%28Style+Me+Pretty%3A+The+Ultimate+Wedding+Blog%29

Leave a Reply

