My brain is full

As I was tidying up the bedroom yesterday morning, I finally got around to putting away that stack of books that inevitably piles up next to the bed – you know the one, right?  Every self-respecting reader has it.

My stack of books contained (in this order):

Unaccustomed Earth

Einstein: His Life and Universe

Persuasion

Forever, Erma

The Brontë Myth*

We Are Still Married

Quite a variety, eh?

What can I say?  I love humorous essays and mind-numbingly intense biography.

And now that I have bared all:  What’s on your bedside book pile, right this instant?

~~~

*This is part of the “books I was supposed to have read during college and maybe even wrote papers about but am just now actually reading” genre.**

**Why yes, I did graduate college in 2007.  What’s your point?  I had a lot of catching up to do…

8 responses to “My brain is full

  1. Even though it SHOULD be my bar studying books, I am reading Sense and Sensibility. And I also never read that Bronte Myth book during school- fun times trying to come up with a good comment in class when I had no idea what the myth actually was. But then I graduated and read it for fun.

  2. I just finished reading “First They Killed My Father”, am rereading Pride and Prejudice and have a biography on Jackie O standing by. I havent read the Bronte Myth, so I may have to add it to my list 🙂

  3. Let’s see, there is “Cross Bones” by Kathy Reichs on top – bought yesterday, already three chapters in. Then we have “The Golden Compass” which I’m re-reading after 10 years because I can’t remember anything about the story. And finally there is the stack of Sandman comics from the library, which I wasn’t sure about until I started reading them (stupid me, it’s Neil Gaiman, what else could they be but awesome?).
    Oh, and “Knitting Rules”, to consult the sock recipe or whenever need a good laugh. Looove Stephanie’s writing.

  4. Pride and Prejudice: reading for the first time in 2010.

    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: re-reading mainly for the memories scenes.

    The End of Faith: Sam Harris.

    The Thurber Chronicles: James Thurber.

    The Magicians: Lev Grossman.

    The Demon Haunted World: Carl Sagan

  5. I just moved my stack of books an no longer have a stack next to my bed. Good thing. But…I do still have an old Reader’s Digest and Oh The Think You Can Think. (i might be a mom…)

    Otherwise i had…. well… a few books.

  6. littlebeaniebear

    I’m currently reading “The Flight of The Romanovs: A Family Saga,” which I got in September as a birthday present. Before that, I had finished “Cemetery Dance” from the Agent Pendergast series & once I finish the Romanovs I have “Dead in The Family” from the Southern Vampire Mysteries

  7. Good topic!! i always am looking for new & interesting things to read, and enjoy hearing what other people have discovered/are interested in.

    Here’s my book pile, in no particular order (because they are usually not in a neat pile):

    Will Shortz Sudoku
    Quickie by James Patterson
    A Lion Among Men by Gregory Maguire
    Good Housekeeping Aug 2010 issue
    An Acceptable Time by Madeleine L’Engle
    my Gratitudes journal
    Couples Devotional Bible
    The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren

  8. my journal; encyclopedia of an ordinary life; the great gatsby; ghostwalk; housekeeping; the blue bottle club.
    i’ve finished the blue bottle club. it was awful. .
    now i’m reading bohemian manifesto.

Leave a Reply

