The nice lady gave me a present

OK I seriously can’t believe this one, y’all.  If you want to have a restored faith in humanity, read on.  If you’re a cold heartless meanie, go find another blog.

…[giving the meanies time to skedaddle]…

About a week ago I was sitting at work on my lunch break, catching up on emails.  A new one popped into my inbox, from from Tracy.  Tracy and I have had absolutely *no* previous acquaintance here on Teh Intartubes, or in real life.  None.  Never heard of her before last week.

Tracy’s email said (I’m summarizing, not quoting, here):

I’m friends with Diana.  I have a Morelle Truffle bag that I don’t use and was wondering if you want it, for free, because I just want it to go to a good home.  I offered it to Diana but she said since she has a few already and you don’t have any, maybe you would want it.

My response was (this is more-or-less a direct quote):

awjeoijfwoigjwoeihqodiwejuoiretjw YES.  YOU ARE AWESOME.  And Diana is awesome.  ::happydance::

Just a few days later, guess what was sitting on my doorstep?

HOLY CRAP GUYS.  I have wanted one of these for AGES, ever since I started seeing Diana’s collection.  (I even included a Morelle bag in my “if I had a million dollars” post, here, after seeing Diana’s)

And now I have a COMPLETE  STRANGER friend (props to Matt Logelin for that one 😀) who gives me one for FREE?  SERIOUSLY!?  This is not how life is supposed to work!  Whatever happened to “cold and unforgiving world”?

Talk about the kindness of strangers.  This bag is a beauty – I adore it!

I’m still just beside myself.  This whole thing has given me the warmest, fuzziest feeling ever.  EVER.

Now I just have to figure out how to best return that warm fuzzy feeling to Tracy.  I may send her a cat – they’re warm and fuzzy!  Or perhaps just a lovely piece of knitting 🙂

Consider my faith in humanity officially RESTORED.

::happydance::  THANK YOU TRACY.

~~~

PS>As you may already know, Morelle is actually going out of business.  There are still lots of (discounted!) lovely bags in her shop, though, and now that I’ve got one in my hot little hands I can personally testify to the amazing style and workmanship.  Definitely check it out, if you’re in the market for a new bag!  And I hope that once the owner is settled in Sydney she’ll get back in business – these are really fantastic items 🙂

9 responses to “The nice lady gave me a present

  1. I love seeing the photos of it up here. The bag has already found a happier home than it had with me! I’m SO GLAD you like it. I think you’re on to something with this pay it forward thing… I feel so good about myself for doing this 🙂

  2. I love seeing the photos of it up here. The bag has already found a happier home than it had with me! I’m SO GLAD you like it. I think you’re on to something with this pay it forward thing… I feel so good about myself for doing this 🙂

    Btw – I already have a cat and my boyfriend would KILL me if I got another one 🙂

  3. Ugh, sorry for the double post. My slow internet connection mislead me into thinking the first one didn’t go through. Feel free to delete away.

  4. Yay! It’s beautiful! The Oyster was one of my favorite styles of Morelle bags, and I’m so glad you love it.

    I just got my newest one from her a few weeks ago. I haven’t gotten it up on the blog yet, but it will be soon. It’s yellow 🙂

    PS: I love how you tagged this post “holy crap did this really happen” 🙂

  5. That’s a gorgeous bag. It really is…

    And Tracy and Diana must be wonderful people! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention The nice lady gave me a present « KateOhKatie blogs -- Topsy.com

  7. That is super sweet – enjoy it!

  8. Pingback: No wonder my back hurts « KateOhKatie blogs

  9. Love your red purse. The ruffles are adorable!

Leave a Reply

