It’s not like there’s a giant sign or anything…

I cross Delmar on my morning commute.  It’s a pretty convenient area to cross, actually – great visibility in both directions and a nice wide shoulder to park on while I wait for an opportunity.  Today’s wait wasn’t very long, and so after just a few seconds I’d crossed the road and was pedaling safely and happily in the bike lane (!!!) on the south side of the road.  The sun was shining, birds were chirping.  I may have even been whistling.

Suddenly, an asshat in a black Taurus blew past me, shouting “SHARE THE FUCKING ROAD, BITCH!” as he careened dangerously close to the bike lane in which I was riding.

But I’m not mad at him – really, I’m not.  I may have had to suffer his ignorance for just a moment, and gotten that unpleasant rushing feeling in my heart as he veered back into the car lane, worried that he was going to swipe me.  But I only suffered for a moment.  He’s the one who has to live with himself; he’s the one who has to suffer being a massive asshole.

I may give him the benefit of the doubt and choose to believe that he finds himself oh-so-witty for taking the classic cyclists’ slogan and appropriating it.

Or not.

I read: “Motorists!  This road belongs to cyclists as well.  Please be mindful of this, and do not attempt to run them off the road.”

Idiot Asshat in Taurus reads: “Cyclists! This road is the rightful property of anyone driving a car.  Stay the fuck out of their way, for they are superior to you.  Cretins.”

Clearly, it’s quite ambiguous.

6 responses to “It’s not like there’s a giant sign or anything…

  1. Ugh. I remember getting hit by a car and it was going pretty slow and it hurt like a b****.

    I hate those asshats that think they own the road. Actually, I think you made that motorist sound too intelligent. He probably said it more, “Grunt, Me drive car on road. You not in car…you die. Snork, grunt.”

  2. Why must I always worry about you? May I please buy a gun for you? Then you can just shoot out a tire of the offending driver’s car and pedal on by. Let me know.

  3. Sorry to hear that! While we have careless drivers in Scandinavia, there are a few who will shout at cyclists (what with them being all uptight and Scandinavian…). Can I tempt you to move over here? We have delicious cinnamon buns too!

  4. That’s really shitty. St. Louis may be on its way to being a bike town, but it isn’t one yet. Glad you’re ok.

  5. It’s a shame that so many motorists don’t respect the fact that cyclists have rights too. Especially when you’re in the freakin’ bike lane. Grr…

  6. Douuuccheeebaaagggg.

    Glad you are okay.

Leave a Reply

