The official countdown begins

This post could go one of two ways.  I could either write a long treatise in which I share my opinions on the death of Osama Bin Laden, explaining how I can’t celebrate the death of any human but am admittedly relieved that he’s no longer able to terrorize the world, and expressing my admiration for President Obama’s risky decision and gratitude for the exceptional skills of those who executed the maneuver.  Or I could just tell you how many days until the end of my yarn diet:

29.

The 29 longest days of my life, I can tell you.

So, in honor of these 29 interminable days, I present to you:

29 Things (of varying levels of dullness) To Do When You’re Waiting For Your Yarn Diet To End

1. Go for a bike ride in Forest Park.

2. Bake some cinnamon rolls.

3. Knit somewhere that you’ve never knitted before.

4. Make sure your Rav stash and project pages are in tip-top shape.

5. Squeeze a tiny kitten (or a full-grown kitten).

6. Dust your entire house (even on top of the cabinets and shelves).

7. Walk the dog ’till her feet are dragging.

8. Plant some flowers.

9. Make egg salad.  Or tuna salad?

10. Read the Hyperbole and a Half archives.  Make a “my favorites” list.

11. Buy some bananas.

12. Let them ripen.

13. Peel and freeze them.

14. Make a smoothie.

15. Give the dog a bath.  Dry her off, too.

16. Organize your knitting book collection.

17. Scrub the bathroom (even behind the toilet).

18. Try to remember the name of that movie with the one guy, where that thing happened.  You know what I mean.

19. Finish a cross-stitch thingy.

20. Start another cross-stitch thingy.

21. Buy some used books.

22. Go to Kokao.  Eat chocolate.

23. Purchase the cool/hot coffee/tea drink of your choice.  Consume.  People-watch.

24. Finish an old WIP.

25. Sing loudly and off-key to an awesome and embarrassing song.

26. Figure out if there’s a word for “awesome but embarrassing”.

27. Shoe-shop online.

28. Write a letter, on pretty stationery.

29. Figure out a way to turn all these silly actions into a photo essay.  Or blog posts.

I bet you know what I’m going to do now… 🙂

2 responses to “The official countdown begins

  1. I had the same reaction myself to the events that unfolded on Sunday. I was brought up to celebrate life, not death; and so I find myself at a loss for words. It’s an odd place to be.

  2. Glad I’m not the only one in that quandry…glad/not glad.

    Sigh.

    HEY! You could also try to wash and dry off a cat! Saaaaaaay, maybe, OUR cat, who (I am distressed to report) has begun to rather reek.

    Just a thought.

    (You DO like piercings as well as tats, right? Random ones that criss-cross all over your exposed flesh in, uh, TRIBAL…ish…patterns?)

Leave a Reply

