Only slightly derailed

So, when a project makes a sneak attack and you’re powerless to resist, what’s the best course of action?

 

1)Give in completely, become despondent, and eventually set down the needles and take up watercolor painting instead

2)Shun the interloper to the furthest reaches of your knitting bag, and force yourself to work on more pressing matters (only 110 days until Christmas…)

or

3)Acknowledge the new project’s allure, and vow to plow through it as quickly as possible so you may return to your original goal

 

I don’t know if it was the correct answer or not, but regardless: I chose 3).

 

Which is why I just made an entire baby blanket in four days.

 

 

Now it’s blocked and folded and tucked away with the other Hypothetical Hoopling items I’ve made, where it will live until such time as it is needed.  (Read: not anytime soon)

 

Oh yeah, self, that totally made sense.

 

 

It is charming though, isn’t it?  All scrappy and eclectic and cute.

 

 

And I guess it really doesn’t hurt anything, just chillin’ in a box for a while.  And it’s not like I made this rash decision on December 19 or anything.  Really, it could’ve been much worse.  And look at all the superwash scraps that get a new life!  Consider me content.

 

 

Now…on to the Christmas stuff! 🙂

7 responses to “Only slightly derailed

  1. Oooooh, preeeetttyyyyy!

  2. That was fast! The blanket looks fantastic.

  3. Beyond darling! I love everything about it.

  4. It’s absolutely beautiful. I’m not at all sorry I talked you into it. Peer pressure can be a source for good. I wish I could motivate myself to knit something in four days.

  5. Wow, that turned out great!

  6. Very cute, and you just never know….

  7. Ooh, I like that! Now I just need to figure out how to knit zig-zaggy! And also, OMG ONLY 110 DAYS TO CHRISTMAS!! WHEN DID THAT HAPPEN!! I seriously need to start planning presents now!

Leave a Reply

