On tenacity

This yarn has proven…troublesome.

 

First it was the sleeve and half the back of a Wispy. ‘Till I decided that I just can’t be an “embrace pooling and run with it!” person.

 

Then it was the top bit of a knee sock, following the numbers/measurements from this formula.  ‘Till I decided that I didn’t want to make a sock fit for an elephant with a glandular disorder (Clearly my measurement skills were sub-par…).

 

Then it was the top bit of a knee sock, following the modified numbers/measurements from the above formula.  ‘Till I decided that I didn’t want to make a sock fit for a sumo wrestler (I didn’t modify the formula enough).

 

Now, this yarn – in its fourth iteration – is the top bit of a knee sock, fit for a me-sized human:

 

The formula told me 112 stitches of rib.  I ended up with 88.

 

The formula told me to make a 120-stitch calf.  I ended up with 96.

 

I’m throwing that freaking formula out the window, and I love it.

 

I also – despite knitting the same 100 yards from the same two skeins four separate times (frogging alternating skeins can suck a bag of dicks) – still love this yarn.  I just needed to let it speak to me, and tell me what it wants to be.

 

We’re cool now.

3 responses to “On tenacity

  1. I can’t get the formula for knee socks to work right, either. That’s why I was trying to do toe-up knee socks, but I don’t have the knitting stamina for knee socks. 🙂

  2. I hate to even ask this, especially since I dyed the things, but you do have a plan for alternating hanks, yes? Doing the cuff with one hank and the foot with another perhaps? You know how hand-dyed yarns can be and those were kettle dyed (similar to Malabrigo’s style) so they’re even more-so “how hand-dyed yarns can be”. I’m sorry for abusing quotation marks, too.

  3. I just want you to know that half the reason I love your blog so much is that you say things like “suck a bag of dicks,” which makes me feel as though, had we met in junior high, we TOTALLY would have been friends.

Leave a Reply

