You want to make this

Remember my awesome new bread baker from yesterday?
This morning I decided it was high time to test it out.  So I threw together a batch of blueberry bread.  Because I can.

 

 

It’s OK to be jealous.

 

 

I mean, I am now the owner of what is essentially A GIANT MUFFIN.

 

 

And I know you want some, too.  So here’s the recipe:

Blueberry Bread

2 1/2 c flour

1 c sugar

3 1/2 t powder

1 t salt

1 t cinnamon

2 T oil

1 1/4 c milk

1 egg, beaten

1 c blueberries (I use TJ’s organic wild blueberries)

coarse sugar, streusel topping, or more cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350*F.  Grease and flour your pan.  Stir together dry ingredients.  Add wet ingredients, and mix.  Batter should still be a bit lumpy.  Pour into pan; top with coarse sugar, streusel or cinnamon if desired.  Bake 55-70 minutes, or until done through (top will brown and crack slightly).

 

NOM.

 

(mine came out a bit soft in the center, since I’m still learning this new baker).

 

This is the same stuff that Mom used to make for me when I was in college and generally starving to death.  She’d send a whole loaf back with me and I’d hoard it in my room, only occasionally sharing with roomies or Jeff.

 

(If you don’t have an awesome handmade bread baker, this works just as well in a greased and floured standard-size loaf pan. Will take slightly less time to bake.)

4 responses to “You want to make this

  1. I have that bread baker too. A house guest gave it to me as a hostess gift–now I’ll have to get it out and bake something again.

  2. Bread Baker – must have one! ‘Til then, I’ll just try the bread.

    (Kate, I saw a “yarn hive” this weekend – have you seen them? – I’m putting it on my wish list, or a yarn bowl…) so many ideas, so little talent in the pottery dept.

  3. Pingback: March…didn’t happen? | KateOhKatie blogs

  4. Magnifique poste : j’espère en discuter plus tard avec certains de mes potes

Leave a Reply

