BULLET-Y

1)The Yarn Harlot is coming to St. Louis TOMORROW!!!  I’m going to be there – will you?  (Note: the location on that site is not current – Left Bank says it will now be at the Episcopal Church on Euclid)

 

I am toying with the idea of wearing a completed Traveling Woman shawl of Dyeabolical Strong Arm Skinny to this shindig tomorrow.

 

Difficulty: I do not own a Traveling Woman shawl of Dyeabolical Strong Arm Skinny.  However, I do own a hank of Strong Arm Skinny, and the Traveling Woman pattern.  Maybe if I knit like the wind all evening/morning…

 

(Someone should probably talk me down off that ledge.  And do it fast.  Rachel is not helping; she is – and I quote – “poking the crazy”.)

 

2)Remember how I blogged about buying a bushel of apples a couple weeks ago?  I’m happy to report that they have now nearly all (but for a few set aside for baking &c) been put up.  I made 6 half-pints of maple apple butter, 5 qt applesauce, and 7 qt apple pie filling:

I’m considering my first canning experiment a success.  An exhausting, finger-bleeding, water-boiling (but not house-exploding!) success.  YAY ME.

 

I’m going to do so much more next year, and so much different.  I can’t wait.  I’m so addicted now, y’all.

 

3)I went to Maple Leaf on Saturday.  It was awesome.  I’ll tell you more later.

 

And now, I must go.  So much to accomplish, so little time.  Someone bring me some tea?

 

6 responses to “BULLET-Y

  1. I will refrain from poking the crazy and offer an more reasonable option instead; something I would bet Stephanie will fully endorse. Having been to 3…maybe 4 readings & greetings I have seen an outrageous number of beautifully crafted knits – knits that prove my skills to be weak, amateurish, and totally unworthy of calling myself a knitter. I noticed this trend right away (Yellow Dog Knitting – Eau Claire WI) and opted to showcase my enthusiasm for knitting rather than actual product. I suggest you come with the yarn & pattern – knit while she is talking, knit while she is signing, and then have your photo taken with what you have accomplished there. She will know – she will understand.

  2. Wait… maple apple butter? Not just regular apple butter? Whoa.
    Have fun at the book signing – maybe I’ll read about you on the pages of http://www.yarnharlot.ca/blog!

  3. I believe I need a recipe & processing details for that maple buttah!!

  4. Pingback: The fine line between tenacity and insanity | KateOhKatie blogs

  5. There is nothing that says Fall like a nice warm apple pie. I have found a great way to make this all time favorite even better. Personal peices of pie:) All you do is make your pie as normal but instead of it getting put into a pan to bake you simply put the shell and stuffing into a cupcake pan. Only 6 are allowed at a time for spill over. This way there is no cutting and everyone gets just the right size/hand held peice of apple pie:)

  6. Thank you for your post, I was sad that my family was not able to make it to the apple orchard this year. Instead I ended up buying one of the bags and using that to do some baking. This years apple treat was apple /oatmeal cookies..I think they would have done better if I put in some walnuts though. Either way they were a good treat to add to the pile of recipies:)

Leave a Reply

