And then the sun shone upon my pasty skin and I shriveled up and died

I was all set to bitch about how St. Louis’s total snowfall for winter 2011-12 is going to end up being something stupid like 5″, but then I cruised by The Spohrs Are Multiplying and Heather mentioned that it was 88* in LA last week and suddenly I just can’t complain about a ‘mere’ 5″ annual snowfall.

 

I may not survive a whole year in California, y’all.  For real.  I may not.

 

Last week one of my coworkers was like, “Kate, I will laugh so hard if you get out to LA and you start to get tan and dye your hair blonde and start driving everywhere and stuff.  I wouldn’t be surprised.”

 

And I just looked at him, the long, silent dead-eyed stare of ‘oh surely you do not really think that. I mean, do you even know me?’

 

As you, my true friends and compatriots, all know, I will indeed not spend my time in LA getting a boob job and Tweeting about celebrity sightings in Starbucks.  I may, in fact, gleefully string a year-long paper chain around our apartment there, counting down the days until we get to go somewhere with proper seasons.

 

I can’t wait.

 

I mean, I can’t even process the thought of enduring nearly ninety-degree weather in the middle of winter.  What do you do with that? Seriously?  Do you run the a/c year round?  When do you wear boots and sweaters?  How can you appreciate the beauty of the seasons and enjoy watching them change if they never change?

 

I just don’t get it.  And I don’t especially want to get it, but I’m about to get it so I guess I’ll just shut up and get it.

 

That is to say, yay for year-round growing seasons and ambitious plans to can all the things!

 

(And in the meantime – anybody have some fun suggestions of more ways an introverted Midwesterner can fill a year in LA?)

5 responses to “And then the sun shone upon my pasty skin and I shriveled up and died

  1. You’re not going to get one of those trout pout things and start carrying Roxie around in your purse are you?

  2. California is the state that has EVERYTHING. Want snow? Go to Big Bear or Mountain High. Want the beach? Visit Redondo, Manhattan, Huntington, Laguna, etc…want the desert? Drive down south.

    Any kind of cuisine you can imagine. African, REAL Mexican, Organic Vegetarian, whatever your heart desires is there. It is truly the state of indulgence.

    I have come to love the Midwest, but I will always miss California.

  3. I can’t wait for the post that details your spring break 2013 trip to somewhere exotic – like Alaska.

  4. I hate snow. I hate cold. I hate it. So, uh, I’m putting on a red wig, brushing up on my knitting skills and going to Cali in your place. You can go to Ohio in my place. 🙂

  5. ooooooooooooo when you come to ohio, you can stay wif moi!!!

    and what was that place that just got fifteen feet of snow???/ wowza

Leave a Reply

