What I’ve been up to

This is the longest I’ve *ever* gone without blogging, I think.

 

But to be fair, I’ve had a pretty good excuse.

 

A 5 lb 9 oz, 19″ long excuse…

 

Simon Neal Hoops was born at 9:37pm on July 16th, at 34 weeks’ gestation.  Little dude’s in the NICU for now, but hopefully he’ll be headed home before too long.

 

He’s in awesome shape, all things considered: didn’t have to spend any time on a respirator, only a little while under the bilirubin lights, and he nurses like a champ (when he can manage to stay awake, that is).

 

(om nom nom nom nom)

 

I’ll be back later to tell you the whole story about our month of July (There’s blood!  Mystery!  Drama!  And Taco Bell!).  Warning: it’s so unbelievable that you have no choice but to believe it.

 

(I love the faces that he makes.  I call this one “Incredulous Baby”, and it’s a miniature version of the exact same expression Jeff made when I tried to convince him that in England they call tennis “Wimbly”.)

Until I have time to write it all out, you’ll probably have better luck catching up with me one of these places:

Kateohkatie on Twitter

Kate M. Hoops on Facebook

or, if those few little bits of picture-y goodness above weren’t enough for you, Flickr:

Kateohkatie’s Flickr

 

 

I’ll be back when I can, with the full story!

 

Kate, Jeff, and Simon

(and Roxie and Macbeth, who really *are* rather neglected right about now)

25 responses to “What I’ve been up to

  1. Congrats! He’s so beautiful!

  2. Congratulations! He’s beautiful!

  3. What a beautiful baby!

  4. Congratulations! He is beautiful and already wearing handknits too!

  5. Leslie@vigorfamily.com

    Congratulations! I have a Simon at my house. He is eight:) Great name! Glad everyone is doing well.

  6. Aww, congratulations. He’s beautiful! I love his name and the expressions he’s making. 4.5 more weeks until my due date. :-/

  7. Wow, when you take a break, you keep busy!!!, Ha ha,
    Congratulations to you both.
    How beautiful is little Simon, well done !!! so happy to see you are both doing great and Jeff looks like a very proud and confident Dad.
    Thank you for all the pics on Flkr, I have been looking at all the amazing cuteness, specially the one with the sweet little smile.
    It must be good to be able to sit and knit while you are cooped up at the hospital, hope they let him come home soon.Get as much rest as you can:)

  8. Congratulations! He’s adorable 🙂

  9. Congratulations to all of you! Can’t wait to hear the whole story.

  10. Congratulations to both of you, and welcome to the world, baby Simon! You’ll like it here, I’m sure 🙂 But what an early bird, can’t wait to hear the full story.

  11. Congratulations! He’s beautiful.

  12. Wheee – exciting times! Congratulations!!!

  13. Congratulations! Well done, he’s adorable!

  14. Congratulations!

  15. Aw Kate, he’s beautiful (and I love the hat!) – get some rest while you can, and wishing Simon a speedy trip home

  16. Congratulations, what a handsome little man! I hope you’re all well and home together very soon.

  17. What a beautiful baby boy! Such a full head of hair! Congrats to both of you!

  18. It’s a bebe!

  19. It’s so great to hear from you, and with happy news! He is so beautiful, congratulations to you and Jeff! You also look fabulous, by the way. I’ll be sending good thoughts that the three of you can be at home together, soon.

  20. Aaaaaaaah! He’s gorgeous!!! Now, what was he in such a hurry for?! (I know why my Aelish got here a month early – she didn’t want to miss Christmas. But what’s up, Simon? Swimsuit season? Camping? WHAT DID YOU THINK YOU WERE GOING TO MISS?!)

    Hope he’s home soon, if he isn’t already.

  21. Wow! Congratulations! He’s beautiful!

  22. Back again, So happt to see you are on your way home. and the tubes are gone. Still checking out the pics every day….awesome little man!

  23. I think I just made the loudest *SQUEE* noise in the world! Well done well done well done, he’s gorgeous! *leaves to attempt to regain composure*

Leave a Reply

