Myra’s Coffee Cake

I’m working on a giaaaant Christmas/KC trip recap post (I’ve been writing it off and on for FOUR FREAKING DAYS now), but in the meantime, I decided to make a coffee cake.  And share the recipe with you.  Because really: you need this in your life. (The actual cake-cake went to a friend’s house where Simon and I hung out this afternoon.  We consumed hummus and craft beer and coffee cake and snorgled each other’s babies.  It was lovely.)

 

CAAAAAAAKE!

 

Myra’s Coffee Cake

(Myra was a friend of my grandma’s, and her recipe has been passed into our family’s collective repertoire.  This cake has made an appearance at just about every family function for as long as I can remember.  It’s just *simple*: simple to make, simple taste, and simply delicious.  There really is nothing better!

 

2 1/2c sifted flour

3/4c white sugar

3/4c brown sugar

3/4c vegetable oil

1c buttermilk

1 egg

1t baking powder

1t baking soda

1t vanilla

1/2t salt

cinnamon

1c pecans, chopped

Preheat oven to 350*F; grease and flour a 9×9 or 9×11 pan.  Mix the flour, sugars and oil – will look lumpy and crumbly.  Save out about 1c of this mixture; leave the rest in your mixing bowl.  To the rest, add the other ingredients and mix just until lumpy (like pancake batter).

Pour into your prepared pan; top with chopped pecans, that reserved 1c of flour/sugar/oil, (crumble it over the top) and a hearty sprinkle of cinnamon.  Bake for about 35 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

God I love this coffee cake.  It travels well, tastes just as good the second day (if it lasts that long), and serves as a great base for other craziness: how about putting blueberries in, and topping with a vanilla glaze?  Or chocolate chips (or butterscotch)!  Fresh diced peaches?  Go crazy, y’all!

Playing with coffee cake never killed anybody.  Just sayin’.

6 responses to “Myra’s Coffee Cake

  1. When my Grampa died in 1960, Myra DeWeese brought this coffee cake to our house. I loved it so much that Mom asked for the recipe. Myra was a sweet lady and I am so glad she shared her recipe with us. I always like thinking of Myra when I bake one of these.

  2. Oh yum. This cake looks so good.

  3. Marvelous! Such a beautiful looking bake! =)

  4. I’m envisioning this with apples and/or rhubarb! It looks delish!

  5. I’m needing some now. and if I didn’t have to work in the morning, I’d make some. (loving how simon’s grammy has to rub it in that she’s simon’s grammy!!! like she’s no longer your mom, LOL)

Leave a Reply

