Etc.

Indulge me in a little bit of navel-gazing?

 

In the past three months, I’ve written two posts on here.  I could blame Simon and having to chase after him, blah blah blah, but in fact right now he’s asleep on the couch next to me: we’ve *finally* gotten to the point that he can nap without actually having a boob in his mouth the whole time (yay!).  So that’s not an excuse.

 

I could say that nothing exciting has been happening, but that’s a lie.  We’ve been taking family adventures almost every weekend (the beach, LACMA, Renaissance Fair, the Natural History museum, whale watching), or our long weekend trip to San Francisco last month.  They’ve been super awesome, and I’ve taken a ton of pictures.  We’ve done a fantastic job making the most of this year’s adventure.

 

I haven’t even blogged about my grandma’s death and the resultant trip home (April 23).  I wanted to write an awesome tribute post, and share some of my favorite pictures of her and implore all of you to make some cinnamon rolls in her honor.  But I didn’t.  I also didn’t blog about the massive cross-stitch project I’m working on, or bemoan my lack of spinning/knitting time (oh how I miss it!) or this:

which is but a small portion of the canning that I’ve done this past week-ish.  Nectarine jam and spiced cherry jam, if you’re wondering.  AND IT’S SO GOOD.

 

I haven’t blogged about how different-but-same every day is, or how fast Simon is growing up before my very eyes, or our weekly trips to the farmer’s market, or my daydreams about the pretty houses all around our neighborhood here in South Pasadena.  I haven’t blogged about getting ready for the impending move to Akron, the rewards of breastfeeding, or how much fun I have with wrapping Simon in my ever-growing collection of pretty babywearing devices.

 

I came up with the most delicious peach-coconut muffin recipe and didn’t tell you about it.

 

~~~

 

So what happened?  Twitter, for one.  It’s so much easier to deposit life anecdotes in 140 characters and a picture, thanks to my trusty iPhone.  Sitting down at the computer, composing my thoughts, uploading pictures…it suddenly seems like so much more work than it used to.

 

What I don’t know, though, is where to go next.  I’m already mad at myself (no, that’s not too strong a word) for failing so spectacularly at chronicling this year’s adventure.  In 30 years I’m going to care less about the yarn acquisitions and insipid memes of 2011 than I do about the fun we’ve had since July 16, 2012.   But I still can’t make myself sit down and write.

 

I’m not sure what I’m getting at here.  I know I haven’t been reading as many blogs lately, and I suspect you do the same – I spend more time talking to y’all on Facebook or Twitter or good old fashioned email.  So I don’t know how many of you are still checking back here, even.

 

I guess I’m hoping desperately for a second wind.  Because I miss this 🙂

12 responses to “Etc.

  1. I’m still reading!

  2. Glad to see an update from you. This is Jill from xanga btw. I moved to wp

  3. Hi Katie, hope you can sort out what to do next, I just assumed you were having so much fun with Simon and all the lovely adventure friendly weather there.
    I still check in every week 🙂

  4. Still reading too – and being that my blogs been empty since January I can’t really complain about you having a bit of time of to, you know, actually DO life!

  5. I’m still reading 🙂 I know it’s hard to keep up with the writing – do what’s right for you. Sometimes I’ll only get time for a few posts a month, sometimes I’ll write a lot.

  6. I’m still reading, Katie. So sorry to hear about your Grams passing. Next time I have a cinnamon roll I will think of her for sure. I will still be reading your blog as I don’t do twitter. So enjoy reading about all your journeys in CA. I hope you loved SF as much as we did. One of our favorite spots to go and get away.

  7. Rhonda from Baddeck

    I keep checking – love seeing the pictures of Simon – he’s changed so much! But I know you’re busy having fun with your boy, AS IT SHOULD BE! The blog is one way to keep a ‘scrapbook’ of your adventures, but let it go if it’s not working for you any more. Very sorry to hear about your grandma. Best of luck with your move to Akron – that sure was a fast year in LA!

  8. I’m still reading! I love hearing about your adventures- I live vicariously!

  9. I know that your header is from her shed.
    I think we shouldn’t worry about 2013 as far as blogging, lets give ourselves a free pass. what if we do a “five photos” each week (good try kathy) or month (more realistic) and see how that goes. I do miss reading, I really miss posting, and when you get to OHIO, missy, you have to make me a word press, I’ve no patience for the set up. see you soon.

  10. I’m still here! I’d love to read, if you continue to write. SO many blogs I used to read have gone MIA and it’s like I lost a friend. But, I totally understand that life gets in the way and is obviously more important. I certainly haven’t been blogging myself. You have to do what’s right for you, but I’ll always be reading 🙂

  11. PS: I can’t wait to see the epic cross stitch project!!

  12. I checked in! I love reading your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

