Milk was a bad choice

I am SO over this move.  OVER. IT.  I’m over loading up boxes (and then navigating around them).  I’m over logistics.  I’m over disorder and all that.  ALL OF IT.  This time next week I fully expect to be installed on my new screened-in front porch with some fresh, fruity iced tea in one hand and Dad is Fat in the other, laughing my ass off as Simon frolicks with his Grandma.

 

Seeing as how the move-in date is one week from today, maybe I’d best give it 8 or 9 days until the tea drinking and reading.  But no more!

 

Luckily, we’re in crunch time!  They came and got our fridge today (we sold it back to the used appliance place that we bought it from last year), so our living room is now host to a classy installation I call “our giant Igloo cooler with the broken latch”.  I have *most* of the kitchen packed up: just plates and silverware left.  Oh, and my spice cabinet and mixing bowls.  Whoop-de-do.  Simon’s clothes, the bathrooms, the rest of his toys, and those random things we can’t do without, and then I think we’re good to go!  Jeff should get home early tonight and tomorrow, which will be really helpful.

 

I made the mistake of getting a grande caramel macchiato at the Starbucks in Pavilions today.  (I’ve been getting coffee/tea drinks out entirely too much lately).  It’s like every couple months I need a reminder why I don’t drink coffee.  I think I can feel my eyeballs vibrating.

 

Have I mentioned my middle-of-the-night waking?  It’s the most obnoxious thing.  It started when I was pregnant, and hasn’t really gotten better since.  A few times a week, I inexplicably wake up at about 2 or 3 am then lay awake for a couple hours.  None of the usual tricks help me go back to sleep, so I just sit there and read stuff on my phone and drink water.   Which of course means I’m exhausted the next day.  It’s the most frustrating thing!  (I cut out caffeine after about 3:00pm, but that didn’t seem to help.  It’s not going to sleep at night that’s the problem; it’s getting back to sleep after I wake up)

 

Also, it’s like 100* today (hence the title).  LA is giving us a big ol’ middle finger just before our departure 😀  Good riddance!

 

Here.  Have a Simon.

 

I’m off to try and quietly arrange spice jars in a cardboard box.  Ssh!

 

What will I even talk about when we’re not moving anymore?

 

2 responses to “Milk was a bad choice

  1. If it is any consolation, it was 95° in Kansas City today and expected to break 100° tomorrow. Can you say, “Out of the frying pan. . .”?

  2. Simon's Grandma

    We are definitely going to be frolicking!!!

Leave a Reply

