Yankee Peddler! And also I think there may be a house under these boxes

First things first:  they came and installed a new dishwasher yesterday, and fixed the gas line leak.  The maintenance dude went ahead and reconnected our gas, so now we can enjoy life’s luxuries (cooking, bathing…).  At least until I get the gas company to do their re-inspection, at which point I’m sure they’ll find something else that’ll be imminently killing us. :-\

 

ANYWAY.

 

On Sunday we were going kind of stir crazy in the still quite boxy house, so we decided to escape on our first-ever Akron adventure, and visit the Yankee Peddler festival.  I had heard-tell that it was one part craft fair, one part RenFest-set-in-the-19th-century.  We were intrigued.

 

PSLs in hand, we ventured southward.  The trees in northern Ohio are juuuust starting to turn, swaying ragweed lines the highways, and the weather on Saturday was absolutely perfect:  cloudy and cool with just a bit of nip in the air.  LOVE.

 

Our arrival!

 

Soooo…it definitely wasn’t like RenFest (give or take 300 years).  We didn’t see any costumed attendees (just some of the workers), and the stage shows were cute but not quite up to caliber.  But there were lots of neat crafts to see (pottery!), and funnel cakes:

 

So I was happy!  We also got to see a magic show and some clog dancers.  And also a lot of white people.  White people as far as the eye can see!  (Ohio is not, I understand, known for its diversity)

 

I was also the only babywearer there.

Which is fine.  As I told Jeff, I’m comfortable being the odd woman out in a crowd.  It’s kind of my thing. 😛  Plus at least this is something vaguely positive for people to point and whisper about, rather than my acne or debilitating clumsiness.

 

(That’s also a really bad wrap job, but Simon was cranky and pulling my hair and was about to get his little butt yanked out of there and tossed over Daddy’s shoulder for the trip back to the car.)

 

So yes. Yankee Peddler: fun!  Good job, Ohio.

 

~~~

 

Yesterday Jeff discovered his front bike tube really won’t hold air, so he took the car to work and left us stranded at home.  It was just what I needed: some SERIOUS unpacking happened: Simon’s room, the playroom and dining room are done, there are just a couple boxes left in the bedroom, half a box in the bathroom (the bathroom closet/cabinet isn’t really big enough for all our towels and toiletries, so I need to pick up a shelf at IKEA), and a bunch of miscellaneous things in the living room.  Hard to unpack the office/craft room without any desks or shelves to put our stuff on (casualties of the past two moves), so those will have to wait for Ikea, too (Pittsburgh!).  And then we’ll be done!

 

Simon’s asleep now, having just returned from a trip to Target (bless his little heart, I always have to send him with a list or else he just comes back with more blocks and greek yogurt), I had an early lunch of leftovers, and now I think I’ll see about finishing up some of these random boxes so I can stop effing looking at them!  Good riddance to boxes! 🙂

2 responses to “Yankee Peddler! And also I think there may be a house under these boxes

  1. Pittsburgh? You’re coming to Pittsburgh?! I live there now (grad school), and I would love to get together when you swing through if you have the time.

    PS: I’ve been following this move with great sympathy. I hope things are finally turning around.

  2. Has the landlord returned any of your calls yet?

Leave a Reply

