October-January

::tap tap tap::  Is this thing on?

Wow.  This has been my longest blog hiatus to date.  Win?  No.  LOSE.  I knew it was getting bad when not only was my dad nagging me for new posts, but so were old friends who I had no idea even stalked me on here (MEGAN).  So consider this an official apology for the prolonged absence.  We’re all fine and happy; I’ve just find it increasingly hard to sit down and write anything with the 2-1/2-foot-tall tornado spinning around here.  (Jessica I have no idea how you do it with two!)

Maybe I need to set up a fun routine – blogging when he goes down for his naps, maybe make a cup of tea.  Yes.  That’s the ticket!

We’ve been going a little stir crazy lately what with Polar Vortex I and II sweeping through Akron (the low tonight is supposed to be -10.  BRR!).  But we got about 8″ of snow on Saturday, so we decided to take advantage of it and play outside for a bit.  Look at my little icicle!

I lurve him 🙂

Last week it was less cold and snowy, so we bundled up for a walk.  I hate using a stroller in this neighborhood since the sidewalks are uneven (big trees and roots everywhere), so we hadn’t been going out as much since it turned cold, and Simon is getting a bit too big to wear on my front.  Then I had the brilliant idea to see if Jeff’s windbreaker was big enough to cover both of us.  It was!  So I wrapped Simon onto my back, zipped us up in Jeff’s coat, and we were off 🙂

It worked so well that I think we’ll walk down to the library this afternoon, before it gets any colder (I think we’re going to be housebound tomorrow).

Jeff left for Cincinnati this morning and doesn’t get back until Wednesday evening, so I’ve got to find ways to fill our time while he’s gone.  I think we’ll probably bust out the finger paints Grandma and Grandpa gave Simon for Christmas, and after he goes to bed I’ll try to make some serious progress on Jeff’s belated Christmas socks.  If the weather cooperates, I think Kathy and I are going to try and meet up for lunch in Canton on Wednesday.  I haven’t seen her since, what, October?  We’re long overdue for a catch-up!  I may also load Simon up and go to West Point Market for some of their fancy soup or something at some point.  (MY LIFE IS SO EXCITING)

(Aside – this blogging thing isn’t working out too well right now.  Someone keeps thrusting “Let’s Dance, Little Pookie” at me and whining.)

Why don’t I wrap up with a couple pictures from our holiday trip to St. Louis and KC?

Olivia always asks to “hold the baby”, even though he’s not terribly compliant and hold-able anymore (at least, not for an 8-year-old!):

Cuddles with Aunt Laura, who we got to see on our way back to Akron:

We went to see Grandmother and Granddad, and Aunt Linda and Uncle Jeremy, when we were in KC.  Grandmother invoked Great-Grandparent Privileges and stuffed Simon’s little face with cookies:

Clearly he didn’t really mind 😀

They were also really nice to us at lunch in the retirement community’s dining room (better than last time).  My arch enemy is still working there, but Mom and I gave her shifty glares.  BECAUSE WE CAN.  Our server that day was just tickled to have a baby in her section, and when I asked if I could get a cup of fruit or something for him, she came back with a fruit cup, applesauce, a banana, pudding, animal crackers, graham crackers, and I don’t even know what else.  She even delighted in putting some water in his sippy cup for him!  Too sweet 🙂

Lots of stories with Granddad, too, while we were, in Great-Grandmother’s apartment:

I have seriously never met a child who likes stories as well as this little one.  I think I’ve mentioned before that we can read for at least an hour at a go, and that hasn’t changed.  He’ll crawl up on my lap (the ottoman is our designated story-reading spot) and we’ll go through all his board books, most of them multiple times.  Last week Jeff put together one of those $18 particle-board bookcases from Target and I started moving the non-board-book kids’ books into the living room too (they had been on the shelves in the playroom).  Now Simon will go over and choose just the story he wants to hear, then patiently sit through the whole thing – even the long ones!  He’d rather read stories than do just about anything else, I’d guess.

Which is also why I am CONSTANTLY buying books.  We go to the library a lot, but when I can always find good kids’ books for like $0.50-$1 at consignment shops, why not just go ahead and buy them?  (Ask me if I regret this decision when it’s time to pack up and move again in 8 months…)  After food, love, and sleep, I really can’t think of anything better for a baby’s development than lots of reading.  I’m so glad Simon agrees!

And now I really must be off.  I’ve missed y’all, and hope it won’t be another 3 months before I can drag my lazy butt over to WordPress again!

4 responses to “October-January

  1. For the record, I don’t actually know how you accomplish it with a little one running around. I count the day as a win if I can get through a load of laundry and a load of dishes when I have Rebecca. And she’s almost three and can actually help with stuff and semi entertain herself lol.

  2. OMG OMG, Katie and family are all ok and not turned into snowmen !
    Good to have you back, seriously, hope you get some knitting time soon.

  3. Go to a thrift store and buy a large fleece jacket. Big enough that it will still fit your shoulders with simon popping out the middle of the back. Fleece is important unless you want to work on your sewing skills.

    Cut a line across the back at mid shoulder blade height for an ergo, or maybe a smidge higher for a woven wrap. Fleece will not run/unravel/be unruly. I still reinforced my corners by zig zag stitching them. Done.

    Email me if you want a picture of the one I made.

    To put on when alone, hold the jacket by the collar with the inside of the jacket facing away from you. Flip over your head so the head hole settles close to over his head. Tug in whatever direction you need to settle it on. Then put your arms through and zip around you both.

    Note that Simon should wear a hat that secures on his head that is not fleece (fleece hat plus fleece jacket is like kid Velcro and makes it hard to do the flip move and get the jacket on by yourself). Excuse to knit another kid hat 😉

  4. Welcome back, we’ve missed you! (Of course Simon will be a reader – and aren’t you glad? )

Leave a Reply

