Don’t get used to it

Making good on my half-assed attempt to get back in the swing of blogging.  As promised, I’m sitting here with a sleeping Simon upstairs and a cup of tea.  And a caramel bar. (Ssh!)

 

We had a pretty quiet afternoon yesterday.  Lots of stories (Pigs to the Rescue!) and building with bristle blocks.  Nothing too big.  Oh, and of course music time 😉

(I just realized his eyes look crossed there.  I promise, they’re not.)

 

I’m lucky that Jeff doesn’t travel for work any more frequently than he does, but it still sucks when he does go.  The evenings just aren’t right without him around!  But I wanted to keep as much of our routine as we could anyway, so I cooked a quick dinner (rather than defaulting to grilled cheese or PB&J, as is my wont).  And then, because Jeff wasn’t around to go spastic about the inevitable mess, Simon and I decided to practice our fork skills:

Watching him wrangle one the size of his arm convinced me to order a kid-sized set off Amazon; it should arrive tomorrow.

 

Once I got Simon down I settled in with some mango tea and knitting and Netflix, which was nice, but I’d rather have been bitching about Jeff monopolizing the TV with MLB ’13 😉

 

As predicted, I did not sleep at ALL last night.  Not only am I quite certain there are burglars lurking about the neighborhood and squirrels with machetes in the attic, but Simon has really kicked up his night nursing.  Jeff and I are hoping to get him sleeping in his own bed before too long (our double bed is just too small for two adults and a toddler) but with him still needing the boobs every hour I’m not sure how that’s going to work out.  I don’t mind nursing him down, but I’d love it if he could settle himself during subsequent wakeups.  We shall see.

 

This morning I got up and looked around the house and thought “I cannot spend one more entire day here.  No sirree.”  So after breakfast we loaded up.  Due to it being -4* right now, all the schools are closed.  So I figured that the library, fast food playplaces and mall play areas are all probably MADHOUSES, and I really don’t want either of us to get knocked down with another cold yet, so I decided to steer clear of kid places and go to Salvation Army and Home Depot instead (lol).  So we went to SA and I got a big blanket to throw down as a fingerpainting drop cloth, and a couple kids’ books (including a paperback of The Midwife’s Apprentice.  I loved that book in 3rd-4th grade.  Do y’all remember it?)  Then in Home Depot we wandered around a bit and looked at all the big things and guys with flat trolleys full of lumber, and I’m sure it made Simon feel very grown-up and manly.  A quick run into Aldi for blueberries and then West Point Market for fancy cheese and a cup of soup (talk about grocery-shopping whiplash!), and we’re back home.  And no one got frostbite and I won’t be chasing the dog around our hedge maze with an axe.  Win-WIN-win.

 

Now I’m out of caramel bar, and Simon is still conked out.  I don’t know what was in that cookie that the bakery lady at West Point Market gave Simon (quaaludes?), but I ain’t complainin’.  To the knitting!

 

Happy Tuesday, y’all.  Stay warm!

 

 

One response to “Don’t get used to it

  1. I’m so glad you’re back to posting.

Leave a comment