Flip side – sneak peek

I still have more to share from our Florida adventure, but there’s something else in my blogging backlog to take care of first – a real FO!

Is it just me, or does it seem like it’s been *forever* since I’ve had anything “real” to share on the blog?  Aside from failed attempts at knitting, and stash acquisition (no slowdown in that, at all…) and pictures of my mentally retarded dog, I mean.

I think my mojo’s on its way back, though.  As is often the case with this sorta thing, it has taken a concerted effort by myself and some wonderful blogfriends, but we’re well on our way.  As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I had the opportunity to test knit another yarn for Rachel.  I decided that the 50/50 wool/silk was begging to become a Milkweed Shawl, and that a simple triangular shawl was just what I needed, so in no time at all I’d finished it!

I still need to do a proper photoshoot – and block the darned thing – but Jeff and I were able to grab a few photos the other night after I got home from work.  So let’s just call this a “sneak peek” rather than a true FO post, shall we?

I’ve no complaints with the pattern – it was super easy and fun, and with garter stitch all over, there wasn’t a single purl in the whole thing.  A fast, easy knit!

It’s sorta reversible, in that I don’t know which side is really supposed to face out so I’ve tried it both ways.  I really like the bumpy ridges formed by those sl1-k2tog-psso’s (even though those maybe are on the inside? That was the WS as you knit…):

The shawl is definitely on the smallish side, but the garter stitch makes it relatively dense, which makes it perfect for early spring.  I can tell I’m gonna get a lot of wear out of this one (after I get around to blocking it, that is…)!

Rachel, I’ll be emailing you full details/comments later, but I do want to block the shawl first.  I’m loving this yarn, though!

2 responses to “Flip side – sneak peek

  1. That is beautiful! Will look great with my eyes, too. Thanks.

  2. As you can see by the discrepancy between the date you posted this and the date I am commenting that I, too, am behind in blog reading.

    The shawl looks great! I can’t wait to see what you have to say.

Leave a comment