Strange Folk (subtitle: At Last, Surrounded by My Kind)

Jeff and I woke up bright and early this morning to go to Strange Folk, the super awesome outdoor indie arts and crafts fair in O’Fallon (IL).  Since we missed it last year, I was super psyched about finally attending!  I’d been told it was really awesome – great vendors, great food, great products, beautiful displays – and it didn’t disappoint.

The day started out cool and sunny, and everyone was in a good mood.  Yes, even Jeff – because he had a MAP! (and we all know how Jeff likes maps…)

It also probably helps that we left the dogger at home; one less thing to worry about.  She does a splendid job at these things, but, y’know.

There were *so many* booths at the festival, both in the pavilion and in surrounding tents.

It required a valiant effort and much dedication on my part, but I managed to visit every single one.

And yes, even some of them twice.

One thing I loved about this whole experience was how I was, for the first time in recent memory, surrounded by “my” people.  The place was crawling with other creative-types, hippies, and creative-type- and hippie-sympathizers.  Not exactly your usual State Fair crowd 😉  It was a joy chatting with the other attendees and admiring the beautiful handknits that so many were wearing, and being surrounded by the sellers’ talent and creativity.  I came home so inspired!  I want to learn how to weave!  And spin!  And create batik!  And sew garments!  I want to do it all, and I want to do it all *now* 😀

Rachel had told me that it was a bit of a mad rush for the free tote bags at 10:00, but I managed to snag one.  I think the info booth ran out just a few minutes after 10, though.  Maybe not a mad rush, but definitely not a leisurely stroll either 😛

(See those stacks of pink and black tote bags?  I already had mine safe on-arm when I took this photo 😀

They were a really cute design, too!

But cute as the little Strange Folk gnomie is, there was something a *billion* times cuter at the festival.   Something from a farm.  BearKamp Farms, to be precise.   Know what it was?

ALPACAS!!!

I loved them.  Their big doe-y eyes…

Their funny fuzzy “haircuts”…

even their tiny tippytoes!

They were my buddies.

I wanted to sneak one out and take it home and have it live on the balcony, but Jeff wouldn’t let me.

Jeff is a big meanie.

But that’s not even the whole of it.  Not only would he *not* let me take an alpaca, he *also* wouldn’t let me have one of these:

Tiny kittens, not yet available for adoption, brought by Tenth Life.  I don’t know why they teased me so.  ‘Twas cruel.   ‘Twas also cruel that Jeff wouldn’t let me have one.  I’m pretty much surrounded by cruelty.

I think the shy little spotted one would’ve fit perfectly into our zoo, don’t you?

After 3 1/2 hours of shopping, eating, kitten-gazing, and greyhound petting (no pictures of that, but they were beautiful animals!  I wanted one of those, also.  But even I must admit that adding another dog to our household is even more impractical than a kitten or an alpaca)  the clouds had started looking rather ominous, so we decided to call it a day and head back to U City.

And not a moment too soon!

The skies opened up just after we left; I hope that the crafters and artisans were all able to get their goods under cover in time!

~~~

I’ve spent an hour and a half writing this post and watching Coming to America on Comedy Central, so I think it’s about time to wrap it up.

Tomorrow:  the loot!

5 responses to “Strange Folk (subtitle: At Last, Surrounded by My Kind)

  1. Hooray for hippies!

    It is SO weird that you blogged Alpacas on the very day I learned of their existence!

  2. I’m glad you made it out! I love Strange Folk. LOVE IT.

  3. I loved the cute little spotted kitty, too! Adorable. I love kittens. 🙂

  4. Pingback: ::annoying whistle:: « KateOhKatie blogs

  5. Pingback: Strange Folk 2011 | KateOhKatie blogs

Leave a comment